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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 

publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 

days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 

necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 

clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 

comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 

to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 

completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 

comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 

than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 

period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 

appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 

may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 

objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 

will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 

by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 

with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 

Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 

substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 

30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 

public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 

receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 

comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 

inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 

certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 

process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 

provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 

objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency, upon 

consultation with the Attorney General, and at the discretion of the 

Governor, may adopt emergency regulations that are necessitated by an 

emergency situation. An agency may also adopt an emergency 

regulation when Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal 

law or federal regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 

days or less from its enactment. The emergency regulation becomes 

operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 

unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to no 

more than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six 

months under certain circumstances as provided for in § 2.2-4011 D. 

Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in the Register. 

During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 

procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 

agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 

Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 

regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 

180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 

chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 

prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

29:5 VA.R. 1075-1192 November 5, 2012, refers to Volume 29, Issue 

5, pages 1075 through 1192 of the Virginia Register issued on  

November 5, 2012. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, 

Chairman; Gregory D. Habeeb; James M. LeMunyon; Ryan T. 

McDougle; Robert L. Calhoun; Carlos L. Hopkins; E.M. Miller, Jr.; 

Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; Christopher R. Nolen; Timothy Oksman; 

Charles S. Sharp; Robert L. Tavenner. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 

Karen Perrine, Assistant Registrar; Anne Bloomsburg, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2014 through June 2015 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

30:23 June 25, 2014 July 14, 2014 

30:24 July 9, 2014 July 28, 2014 

30:25 July 23, 2014 August 11, 2014 

30:26 August 6, 2014 August 25, 2014 

31:1 August 20, 2014 September 8, 2014 

31:2 September 3, 2014 September 22, 2014 

31:3 September 17, 2014 October 6, 2014 

31:4 October 1, 2014 October 20, 2014 

31:5 October 15, 2014 November 3, 2014 

31:6 October 29, 2014 November 17, 2014 

31:7 November 12, 2014 December 1, 2014 

31:8 November 25, 2014 (Tuesday) December 15, 2014 

31:9 December 10, 2014 December 29, 2014 

31:10 December 23, 2014 (Tuesday) January 12, 2015 

31:11 January 7, 2015 January 26, 2015 

31:12 January 21, 2015 February 9, 2015 

31:13 February 4, 2015 February 23, 2015 

31:14 February 18, 2015 March 9, 2015 

31:15 March 4, 2015 March 23, 2015 

31:16 March 18. 2015 April 6, 2015 

31:17 April 1, 2015 April 20, 2015 

31:18 April 15, 2015 May 4, 2015 

31:19 April 29, 2015 May 18, 2015 

31:20 May 13, 2015 June 1, 2015 

31:21 May 27, 2015 June 15, 2015 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Carol Hartigan. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To add the American 

Association of Critical-Care Nurses Certification Corporation 

to list of board-approved certification organizations for nurse 

practitioner licensure. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition to amend the listing of approved 

providers was posted on the Virginia Regulatory Townhall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. It has also been filed with the 

Register of Regulations for publication on July 14, 2014. 

Comment on the petition from interested parties is requested 

until August 13, 2014. Following receipt of all comments on 

the petition, the request will be considered by the Board of 

Nursing at its meeting in October 2104 to decide whether to 

make any changes to the regulatory language. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-35; Filed June 20, 2014, 4:24 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Gerald Lawson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To require graduation from a 

clinically focused counselor preparation program accredited 

by CACREP or an approved affiliate of CACREP that 

includes a minimum of 60 semester credits (90 quarter hour 

credits) of curricular experiences and a practicum of at least 

100 hours and an intership of at least 600 hours. Allow a 

grandfathering of programs that meet current requirements for 

seven years from the effective date of the regulations. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition will be filed with the Register of 

Regulations and published on July 14, 2014, with comment 

requested until August 13, 2014. It will also be posted on the 

Virginia Regulatory Townhall and available for electronic 

comment. At its first meeting following the close of 

comment, which is scheduled for September 19, 2014, the 

board will consider the request to amend regulations and all 

comment received in support or opposition. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-36; Filed June 18, 2014, 3:49 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Rodney McMurray. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To reduce the continuing 

education requirement for supervisors to refresher courses of 

three to five hours of training in supervision every five years. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting held on 

April 25, 2014, the board considered the petition and 

comment received and had a robust discussion on the issue. 

While there was some support for a review of the regulation, 

the board voted to deny the petition because members did not 

believe the requirement is excessively burdensome but did 

feel that it is necessary to ensure adequate supervision of 

applicants. Members noted that the requirement equates to 2.8 

hours of continuing education per year, all of which may be 

counted towards the 30 hours of continuing education 

required for licensure renewal every two years. Additionally, 

the changes suggested by commenters did not appear to be 

significantly different from the current requirement. The 

board further discussed the possible need for better 

communication with supervisors about the requirement and 

the types of courses that may be beneficial. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-21, Filed June 20, 2014, 8:16 a.m. 
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Carol Gauzens. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Amendment to 18VAC140-

20-50, which requires at least 14 hours of continuing 

education within the five years preceding provision of 

supervision. Recommends an initial requirement and then two 

or three continuing education units per renewal for those 

wishing to be supervisors. 

Agency's Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting held on 

April 25, 2014, the board considered the petition and 

comment received and had a robust discussion on the issue. 

While there was some support for a review of the regulation, 

the board voted to deny the petition because members did not 

believe the requirement is excessively burdensome but did 

feel that it is necessary to ensure adequate supervision of 

applicants. Members noted that the requirement equates to 2.8 

hours of continuing education per year, all of which may be 

counted towards the 30 hours of continuing education 

required for licensure renewal every two years. Additionally, 

the changes suggested by commenters did not appear to be 

significantly different from the current requirement. The 

board further discussed the possible need for better 

communication with supervisors about the requirement and 

the types of courses that may be beneficial.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-13, Filed June 20, 2014, 8:16 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC25-115, General 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Permit for Seafood Processing Facilities. This 

general permit establishes limitations and monitoring 

requirements for point source discharges from seafood 

processing facilities. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

amend and reissue the existing general permit that expires on 

July 23, 2016. 

In addition, this regulation will undergo a periodic review 

pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and a small business 

impact review pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine whether this regulation should be 

terminated, amended, or retained in its current form.  

For purposes of the periodic review, public comment is 

sought on any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare and is designed to achieve 

its intended objective in the most efficient, cost-effective 

manner; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives 

of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

For purposes of the small business impact review public 

comment is also requested on the components of this review, 

which include: (1) the continued need for the regulation; (2) 

the complexity of the regulation; (3) the extent to the which 

the regulation overlaps, duplicates, or conflicts with federal or 

state law or regulation; and (5) the length of time since the 

regulation has been evaluated or the degree to which 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors have 

changed in the area affected by the regulation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 

698-4032, TTY (804) 698-4021, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4092; Filed June 24, 2014, 9:50 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Counseling intends to 

consider amending the following regulations: 18VAC115-20, 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Professional 

Counseling; 18VAC115-50, Regulations Governing the 

Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy; and 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to clarify and update 

requirements as part of a comprehensive review of current 

regulations governing the practice of professional counseling, 

marriage and family therapy, and licensed substance abuse 

practitioners that began in 2011. The Board of Counseling 

determined that it is essential to continue the regulation of 

these licensed professions as mandated by the Code of 

Virginia, but that there are modifications necessary to clarify 

and update requirements. Subsequently, the board amended 

18VAC115-20 in response to the Governor's Regulatory 

Reform Initiative, but did not complete its review of 

18VAC115-50 and 18VAC115-60 until recently. The board 

intends to amend all three chapters in this action for 

consistency in requirements for licensed professionals. The 

goal of the action is to ensure accountability and competency 

for residents, supervisors, and licensees who provide clinical 

services to individuals and families in need of counseling. 

This Notice of Intended Regulatory Action serves as the 

report of the findings of the regulatory review pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Chappell, Executive Director, 

Board of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 

527-4435, or email catherine.chappell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4067; Filed June 12, 2014, 8:24 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-201, Permanency 

Services - Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption, and 

Independent Living. The purpose of the proposed regulatory 

action is to provide an appeal process related to benefits and 

services for children in the Commonwealth's foster care 

system to help ensure that these children, their birth parents 

when reunification is a goal, and in some cases, foster 

parents, receive needed services and payments. In addition, 

the proposed regulatory action provides an appeal process for 

independent living services for youth who are in or have been 

in the foster care system and for individuals who are eligible 

for prevention services under § 63.2-905 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-900, and 63.2-915 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Department of Social Services, 

Division of Family Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219-2901, telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX 

(804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1849, or email 

phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3687; Filed June 25, 2014, 4:36 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Commission on the Virginia 

Alcohol Safety Action Program intends to consider amending 

24VAC35-60, Ignition Interlock Program Regulations. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to strengthen, update, 

and clarify these regulations that cover the process for the 

certification of ignition interlock devices and ignition 

interlock service providers in Virginia. Procedures for the 

installation, maintenance, and removal of ignition interlock 

devices are outlined as well as requirements for reporting and 

recordkeeping. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 13, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 

rfoy.vasap@state.va.us. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3946; Filed June 12, 2014, 3:46 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-40. Voter Registration 

(amending 1VAC20-40-10).  

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 2014 - date, time, and place to be determined 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Susan Lee, Manager, Department of 

Elections, 1100 Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8925, or email 

susan.lee@sbe.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments change the definition of "valid" for all 

purposes related to voter identification, including the 

length of time an expired identification document will be 

accepted. 

Article 1 

General Provisions 

1VAC20-40-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abode" or "place of abode" means a physical place where a 

person dwells. One may have multiple places of abode, such 

as a second home. 

"Address" or "residence address" for purposes of voter 

registration and address confirmation means the address of 

residence in the precinct required for voter registration. An 

alternative mailing address may be included on a voter 

registration application when: (i) the residence address of the 

applicant cannot receive mail; or (ii) the voter is otherwise 

eligible by law to provide an alternative mailing address. 

Alternative mailing addresses must be sufficient to enable the 

delivery of mail by the United States Postal Service. The post 

office box for published lists may be provided either by the 

United States Postal Service or a commercial mail receiving 

agency (CMRA) described in the United States Postal Service 

Domestic Mail Manual.  

"Authorized personnel" means the designated individuals of 

a general registrar's office or the Department of Elections 

who are permitted to access the voter registration database 

and capture information necessary to generate photo 

identification cards.  

"Domicile" means a person's primary home, the place where 

a person dwells and which he considers to be the center of his 

domestic, social, and civil life. Domicile is primarily a matter 

of intention, supported by an individual's factual 

circumstances. Once a person has established domicile, 

establishing a new domicile requires that he intentionally 

abandon his old domicile. For any applicant, the registrar 

shall presume that domicile is at the address of residence 

given by the person on the application. The registrar shall not 

solicit evidence to rebut this presumption if the application 

appears to be legitimate, except as provided in 1VAC20-40-

40 B and C. 

"Permanent satellite location" means an office managed, 

maintained, and operated under the control of the general 

registrar for the locality that is consistently operational 

throughout the year and is not the principal office of the 

general registrar. Offices of other agencies where registration 

takes place pursuant to § 24.2-412 B of the Code of Virginia 

are not considered permanent satellite locations.  

"Residence," "residency," or "resident" for all purposes of 

qualification to register and vote means and requires both 

domicile and a place of abode. 

"Valid" for all purposes related to voter identification means 

documents containing the name and photograph of the voter 

having legal effect, legally or officially acceptable or of 

binding force, and appearing to be genuinely issued by the 

agency or issuing entity appearing upon the document where 

the bearer of the document reasonably appears to be the 

person whose photograph is contained thereon. Other data 

contained on the document, including but not limited to 

expiration date, shall not be considered in determining the 

validity of the document. Such documents shall be accepted 

up to 30 days after expiration. 

"Voter photo identification card" means the official voter 

registration card containing the voter's photograph and 

signature referenced in § 24.2-404 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4093; Filed June 25, 2014, 9:08 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF GAME AND INLAND FISHERIES 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Game and Inland 

Fisheries is claiming an exemption from the Administrative 

Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of 

Virginia when promulgating regulations regarding the 

management of wildlife.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 19, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and Inland 

Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23230 

Public Comment Deadline: August 8, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341 or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment defines feral hogs (Sus scrofa), 

already identified as a nuisance species, as swine that are 

free-roaming or wild. 

4VAC15-20-160. Nuisance species designated.  

A. The board hereby designates the following species as 

nuisance species pursuant to § 29.1-100 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

1. Mammals.  

a. House mouse (Mus musculus);  

b. Norway rat (Rattus norvegicus);  

c. Black rat (Rattus rattus);  

d. Coyote (Canis latrans);  

e. Feral hog (Sus scrofa) scrofa; any swine that are free-

roaming or wild);  

f. Nutria (Myocastor coypus); and  

g. Woodchuck (Marmota monax).  

2. Birds.  

a. European starling (Sturnus vulgaris);  

b. English (house) sparrow (Passer domesticus); and  

c. Pigeon (Rock Dove) (Columba livia).  

d. Other nonnative species as defined in the Migratory 

Bird Treaty Reform Act of 2004 and regulated under 50 

CFR 10.13.  

B. It shall be unlawful to take, possess, transport, or sell all 

other wildlife species not classified as game, furbearer or 

nuisance, or otherwise specifically permitted by law or 

regulation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4096; Filed June 25, 2014, 10:57 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-290. Game: Permits 

(amending 4VAC15-290-160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 19, 2014 - 9 a.m. - Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries, 4000 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 

23230 

Public Comment Deadline: August 8, 2014. 

Agency Contact: Phil Smith, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, 4010 West Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email phil.smith@dgif.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) restrict issuance of foxhound 

training preserve permits to facilities that existed on 

January 1, 2014; (ii) limit the number of foxes stocked 

annually in preserves to 900; (iii) define the process for 

determining the number of foxes that can be stocked in 

each preserve annually; (iv) adjust the statewide fox 

stocking limit if a preserve permanently ceases operation; 

(v) establish a reporting system for preserve operators to 

report the transport and delivery of foxes to preserves; (vi) 

clarify that permits shall not be denied for recordkeeping 

failures or technical violations; and (vii) specify that no 

permits shall remain valid after July 1, 2054. 

4VAC15-290-160. Foxhound training preserves. 

A. A permit shall be required for the The operation of a 

foxhound training preserve in the Commonwealth shall be 

lawful only when conducted in compliance with the 

requirements of a permit issued by the department. The 

director or his designee may issue, deny, renew, modify, 

suspend, and revoke permits for the operation of foxhound 

training preserves. In accordance with § 29.1-525.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, a permit may only be issued for a location 

at which, as of January 1, 2014, a foxhound training preserve 

existed and was operating under a permit issued by the 

department. 

B. Permit requirements shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. Application requirements, including: 

a. Operator information, including name, date of birth, 

address, phone number, and email address, as well as an 

indication as to whether the operator has previously been 

convicted of any federal or state wildlife law or 

regulation violation and, if so, a description of such 

conviction. 
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b. Preserve information, including whether the preserve 

is public or private, the name and location of the 

preserve, the names and addresses of adjacent 

landowners, and the mailing address and phone number 

of the preserve, if different from the operator. 

c. Evidence of the size of the preserve. A 7-1/2 minute 

1:24,000 topographic map or aerial image indicating the 

fenced area shall be provided. For preserves under 150 

acres, or where determined necessary by the department 

to determine compliance with minimum acreage 

requirements, the department shall further require a plat 

of legible scale by a certified land surveyor that shows 

ties to property lines (submeter) and is produced using a 

differential global positioning system capable of 

producing submeter accuracy positioning, which shall be 

reviewed by the department and must indicate that the 

fenced area is 100 acres to an accuracy level of plus or 

minus one acre.  

d. An application fee of $50. 

e. A certification statement by the operator attesting to 

the accuracy of the application and agreeing to 

notification of the department of any change within 30 

days.  

2. Provisions establishing a permit term of one year, after 

which permits may be renewed in accordance with the 

department's permit renewal procedures.  

3. Acreage requirements specifying that each preserve 

must be at least 100 contiguous acres completely fenced. 

Facilities that consist of less than 100 contiguous acres 

permitted prior to August 15, 2013, may remain permitted 

so long as permit coverage is continuously maintained. The 

map or aerial image of the preserve boundaries must be on 

file with the department, and must be updated if any 

landowner changes, or if boundaries are altered.  

4. Fencing requirements sufficient to prevent foxes and 

hounds from entering or escaping the enclosure. These 

requirements may include requirements for double strands 

of barbed wire at the top and electric wire at the bottom of 

the perimeter fencing and at all gates around the preserve, 

or other such fencing as deemed necessary. Such 

requirements shall also require rounded fence corners 

within the enclosure or the use of interior fencing to 

provide dog-proof escape areas at nonrounded fence 

corners.  

5. Habitat and escape cover requirements, including 

adequate natural cover within the enclosure and at least 

one man-made dog-proof escape structure per 20 acres, 

unless greater escape cover is deemed necessary based on 

an inspection of the enclosure. Each escape structure or 

device must offer foxes effective refuge from dogs at all 

times and shall be appropriately distributed throughout the 

enclosure.  

6. Requirements that all persons participating in the 

training of foxhounds in a preserve, unless specifically 

exempted by law, shall have a valid resident or nonresident 

Virginia hunting license, or a nonresident license to hunt 

exclusively in foxhound training preserves. Participants are 

not required to have a hunting license when participating in 

a dog field trial authorized by the department.  

a. Hunting of any species other than foxes is prohibited 

within the preserve unless otherwise provided for by the 

department. 

b. A dog field trial permit shall be required for all field 

trials.  

7. Requirements for training and field trials held within the 

preserve, including:  

a. Hound density restrictions specifying the maximum 

number of dogs that may be trained or participate in field 

trials in the enclosure at any one time. This maximum 

hound density shall not exceed one dog per two acres of 

preserve. When deemed necessary, more restrictive 

hound densities may be required, based on available 

escape cover and past history of hound-related mortality 

events. 

b. Limits on the number of days per week during which 

training or field trials may occur. Training or field trials 

with foxhound densities exceeding one dog per 10 acres 

shall not be permitted for two days prior to and two days 

after any field trial event and shall be limited to a 

maximum of five days per week.  

c. All dogs training or participating in field trial events 

within the preserve shall be up to date on their rabies 

vaccinations. Proof of rabies vaccination status shall 

consist of a current rabies certificate signed by a licensed 

veterinarian.  

d. No field trial event shall provide for a cash or 

monetary prize to the participants.  

8. Provisions regarding the stocking of the enclosure, 

including: 

a. In accordance with § 29.1-525.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, the total number of foxes stocked annually in 

all preserves combined shall not exceed 900. The 

department shall determine the maximum number of 

foxes that may be stocked in each preserve based on the 

proportion of the preserve acreage in relation to the total 

acreage of all preserves. The department shall make these 

determinations annually and will provide notice to each 

permit holder of the permitted allocation for that year at 

least 30 days in advance of the fox trapping season. If a 

preserve ceases operation, its allocation of foxes from the 

previous year shall be deducted from the total number of 

foxes that may be stocked in all preserves statewide. 

a. b. The purchase of foxes for the purposes of stocking a 

preserve shall be prohibited. However, the time and 

expenses of trappers supplying foxes may be reimbursed, 
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so long as a written receipt detailing the amount paid and 

the specific expenses being reimbursed is prepared and 

given to the trapper, with a copy retained by the preserve 

operator. Receipts shall be retained by both parties for 

two years and are subject to inspection by the department 

at any time.  

b. c. Only wild, live-trapped red (Vulpes vulpes) and 

gray (Urocyon cinereoargenteus) foxes may be released 

into preserves. Foxes may only be trapped for stocking 

purposes within the Commonwealth. No importation of 

foxes from out of state is permitted nor may foxes be 

relocated from one preserve to another, except that foxes 

may be transported from acclimation training enclosures 

to another enclosure of the same operator. Release of 

coyotes into foxhound training preserves is prohibited. 

c. d. Live-trapped wild foxes may be released only in 

preserves that are operating under a valid permit and are 

open to the public for foxhound training purposes. 

d. e. Acclimation requirements providing a minimum of 

seven days for foxes to become familiar with available 

food and habitat resources within the enclosure prior to 

any dog training or field trial event and 14 days prior to 

any dog training at hound densities exceeding one dog 

per 10 acres.  

e. f. All preserves shall provide the necessary habitat to 

meet the food, water, and cover requirements of wild 

foxes.  

f. g. The department shall be notified of any fox mortality 

or observation of diseased foxes within the preserve. The 

department may require specific health management 

procedures as deemed necessary and may suspend the 

operation of the preserve or halt stocking at any time 

warranted. Inspection and treatment of foxes by a 

licensed veterinarian may be required at the operator's 

expense. In the event of disease outbreaks, costs 

associated with testing, depopulating, cleaning, and 

disinfecting shall be the sole expense of the operator.  

9. Provisions to prevent the ingress of black bears and, as 

deemed appropriate, other wildlife into the enclosure, and 

procedures for reporting the ingress of bears into the 

enclosure and the removal of bears or other wildlife. 

10. Recordkeeping and reporting requirements, including: 

a. Maintenance of a registry of the names, addresses, and 

phone numbers of all hunters training hounds or 

participating in field trials, the dates hunted, and the 

number of dogs per hunt. A separate contact list with the 

complete address and telephone number for each hunter 

may be maintained in lieu of the contact information in 

the registry.  

b. The development and submission of a report to the 

department that includes the number, species (red or 

gray), and source of all foxes trapped and stocked in the 

preserve, including the name and address of each trapper, 

the county of origin of each fox, and the capture and 

release dates of each fox. This report shall be submitted 

by March 15 of each year, and no permit shall be 

renewed if the report is not submitted.  

c. All records shall be kept current and retained for a 

period of two years and are subject to inspection by the 

department at any time.  

11. Provisions allowing for inspections of the enclosure 

and of the permittee's records by the department at the time 

of application, during annual inspections, or at any other 

time. The department may also conduct disease testing of 

transported foxes and wildlife within the enclosure at any 

time.  

12. Such other conditions as may be determined 

appropriate by the department.  

B. C. The director or his designee may grant variances to the 

requirements of subsection A of this section where it is 

determined by the department that the imposition of a 

requirement would impose an unreasonable burden on the 

operator and that the purposes of the requirement can be 

substantially fulfilled by alternative conditions. Any relief 

granted shall be the minimum necessary, documented in the 

operator's permit, and subject to review by the department at 

each permit renewal.  

C. D. It shall be lawful for any foxhound training preserve 

permittee, and licensed trappers designated in writing by the 

permittee and approved by the department, to live-trap and 

transport red and gray foxes from September 1 through the 

last day of February, both dates inclusive, only for the 

purpose of stocking foxhound training preserves covered by 

permits issued pursuant to this section. For the purpose of this 

section, foxes may be live-trapped on private lands with 

landowner permission or on public lands designated by the 

department and transported within the Commonwealth, unless 

otherwise specifically prohibited. Trapping expenses may be 

reimbursed by the preserve owner as provided in this section; 

however, in no case shall the direct sale of foxes or payment 

on a per fox basis be permitted. Except as provided in this 

section, all trapping shall otherwise comply with laws and 

regulations governing trapping. 

1. The preserve operator may designate in writing no more 

than 10 licensed trappers from whom foxes may be 

obtained. Any person convicted of violating any provision 

of state or federal hunting and trapping laws and 

regulations shall not be eligible to supply foxes to 

preserves for at least two years and up to five years 

following the most recent violation. In determining the 

appropriate length of restriction, the department shall take 

into account the nature and severity of the most recent 

violation and any past violation.  

2. All live-trapped foxes must be taken by legal means and 

foxes transported or held for release shall be kept in safe, 

sanitary, and humane conditions with water and food 

available and with protection from the elements.  
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3. Foxes may be retained for no more than seven days 

following their capture, and all foxes must be transported 

to the preserve by the final day of the trapping season. 

Records shall be maintained by trappers as to the length of 

time that each fox is retained in their possession and shall 

be subject to inspection by the department at any time.  

4. A department-issued stocking tag is required for each 

fox stocked in a preserve. Each year, after 2014, the 

department shall distribute tags to each permit holder at 

least 30 days prior to the commencement of the fox 

trapping season. The number of tags the department issues 

to a permit holder shall correspond with that permit 

holder's annual allocation of foxes as determined by the 

department in accordance with § 29.1-525.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. Permit holders are not required to utilize all tags 

issued to them. Unused tags shall not be transferrable to 

any other preserve.  

a. A tag must be filled out by the preserve operator prior to 

transport of each fox to the preserve. The tag number must 

be provided to the trapper prior to transport of the fox and 

must be in the possession of the trapper or preserve 

operator who is delivering the fox to the preserve during 

transport. Upon receipt of a fox, the preserve operator must 

(i) provide the trapper with a copy of the completed tag, 

(ii) retain a copy of the tag, and (iii) mail the completed 

original tag to the department within seven working days. 

The permit holder and the trapper must retain their copy of 

the tag for a period of two years following the end of the 

permit year. 

b. Each completed tag shall provide information that 

includes the species of fox, the name of the trapper, the 

county where the fox was trapped, the date the fox was 

trapped, and the date the fox was delivered to the preserve. 

D. E. Failure to comply with the provisions of a permit or 

the requirements of this section or other applicable wildlife 

laws or regulations may result in modification, suspension, or 

revocation of the permit, or denial of a permit application. 

The department shall not deny a permit to an existing location 

solely due to recordkeeping failures or other technical 

violations of the regulations governing foxhound training 

preserves. Recordkeeping failure does not include a deceptive 

practice or a deliberate, intentional, or willful failure to 

perform recordkeeping, in whole or in part. "Technical 

violation" means a violation of these regulations that is minor 

and unintended. 

F. No permit shall remain valid after July 1, 2054. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4095; Filed June 25, 2014, 10:37 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-30. Regulations Governing 

Adult High School Programs (amending 8VAC20-30-20). 

8VAC20-680. Regulations Governing the General 

Achievement Diploma (repealing 8VAC20-680-10, 

8VAC20-680-20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-224 and 22.1-253.13:4 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: January 16, 2015. 

On June 25, 2014, the Governor approved the State Board of 

Education's request to extend the expiration date of the 

above-referenced emergency regulation as provided in § 2.2-

4011 D of the Code of Virginia. The emergency regulation 

was published in 29:21 VA.R. 2553-2555 June 17, 2013. The 

emergency regulation became effective in July 2013. The 

emergency regulation mirrors the provisions of the Code of 

Virginia, and no public comments were received. The 

replacement regulation was approved by the board on 

November 21, 2013. It will be impossible for the permanent 

regulation to move through the remainder of the regulatory 

process under the Administrative Process Act before the 

emergency regulation expires. If the emergency regulation 

expires before the permanent regulation is effective, it will 

result in confusion for school divisions, families, and 

educators regarding the status of the General Achievement 

Diploma and the requirements of the General Achievement 

Adult High School Diploma. 

Agency Contact: Anne Wescott, Assistant Superintendent for 

Policy and Communication, Department of Education, P.O. 

Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-2403, 

or email anne.wescott@doe.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3303; Filed June 25, 2014, 2:15 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-71. Regulations Governing 

Virginia Newborn Screening Services (amending 

12VAC5-71-30).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-67 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: September 12, 2014. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=3602
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Agency Contact: Dev Nair, Ph.D., Director, Policy and 

Evaluation Division, Office of Family Health Services, 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 864-7662, FAX (804) 864-7647, or 

email dev.nair@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Health is authorized to make, 

adopt, promulgate, and enforce regulations by § 32.1-12 of 

the Code of Virginia. Section 32.1-65 of the Code of Virginia 

requires newborn screening to be conducted on every infant 

born in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Section 32.1-67 of 

the Code of Virginia requires the board to promulgate 

regulations as necessary to implement newborn screening 

services. The regulations are required to include a list of 

newborn screening tests pursuant to § 32.1-65. 

Purpose: All newborns in Virginia would be screened for 

Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID) as a result of 

this proposed regulatory action. SCID is currently estimated 

to occur in approximately one out of every 50,000 live births, 

and some data suggest that figure could be higher. SCID is a 

term applied to a group of inherited disorders characterized 

by defects in both T-cell and B-cell responses. The defining 

characteristic of SCID is the absence of T cells and, as a 

result, lack of B-cell function, the specialized white blood 

cells made in the bone marrow to fight infection. Neonates 

with SCID appear healthy at birth, but without early 

treatment, most often by bone marrow transplant from a 

healthy donor, these infants cannot survive or, if they do, 

have significant morbidities. In addition, the success of the 

bone marrow transplantation decreases with delayed 

diagnosis, mostly due to underlying infections. All these 

factors also add to the cost of care of these patients. 

Undiagnosed cases are 100% fatal.  

Screening for SCID gives affected infants the advances of 

early diagnosis and treatment. Early identification results in a 

higher survival rate, better outcomes, and lower healthcare 

costs. Screening for SCID is an imperative diagnostic tool 

since SCID cannot be detected by a physical examination. 

Laboratory screening is available for high volume testing at a 

reasonable cost.  

SCID was added to the Recommended Uniform Screening 

Panel (RUSP) by U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary 

Kathleen Sebelius following extensive study and 

recommendation from the Secretary's Advisory Panel on 

Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children. The Virginia 

Genetics Advisory Committee also unanimously voted to 

recommend to the State Health Commissioner that SCID be 

added to the state newborn screening panel. A Virginia SCID 

Planning Workgroup met September 21, 2012, to formulate a 

plan and discuss issues surrounding the possible addition of 

this condition to the Virginia panel. It is anticipated that 

Virginia would begin screening for SCID in 2014.  

Substance: The changes proposed to 12VAC5-71 will revise 

the listing of specific disorders for which screening is 

conducted by adding SCID to the state's core panel. 

Currently, the Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services 

(DCLS) analyzes biological markers that may be indicative of 

28 certain disorders that constitute the core panel. Section 

32.1-67 of the Code of Virginia requires that this list of 

screened disorders be in the regulation. Section 32.1-65 of the 

Code of Virginia requires that Virginia's screening tests are 

consistent with the panel recommended by the U.S. Secretary 

of Health and Human Services and the Secretary's Advisory 

Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action to the 

public and to the Commonwealth is universal access to early 

diagnosis and treatment of SCID. Screening for SCID allows 

for early identification of the disease, which then leads to 

higher survival rates, better health outcomes, and lower costs. 

A pertinent matter of interest to the regulated community, 

government officials, and the public is the projected increase 

in the cost of the blood spot screening panel. Newborn 

screening is a fee-for-service program, and the fee is paid by 

hospitals and other screeners who must purchase the filter 

paper kits used for blood spot collection. Most screening is 

performed in hospitals, with about 10% to 15% of screenings 

performed by private physicians and military facilities. 

Hospitals do not generally pass on these costs to patients 

because third-party payers usually pay a negotiated bundled 

amount per delivery, and Medicaid-reimbursed delivery 

payment is set by the Commonwealth. Self-pay patients may 

be responsible to pay the screening fee themselves if they 

have the resources to do so. 

Since the SCID screening assay is based on new highly 

sensitive, specific molecular detection methodology not 

previously employed by the newborn screening laboratory, 

the DCLS requires additional capital equipment, staff, and 

some laboratory renovation to conduct SCID screening. 

Based on current cost estimates and the current number of 

samples being tested annually, the cost to add SCID screening 

will be $7.50 per sample. Adjustments to this estimate are 

possible if DCLS receives a grant for two-year funding from 

the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. This funding 

source could potentially contribute up to $300,000 in both FY 

2014 and FY 2015 towards lab-related costs associated with 

adding SCID to the panel. 

The $7.50 fee for SCID testing is part of a more 

comprehensive fee increase for the newborn screening panel 

that will also cover costs for additional Department of Health 

follow-up personnel and other screening-related expenses 

such as test kits used for cystic fibrosis mutation analysis. 

These other screening-related expenses will have an estimated 

fiscal impact of an additional $15.50 to $17.50 per panel. As 

a result, the total cost of the blood spot screening panel is 

estimated to increase from $53 to between $76 and $78. This 

estimate reflects a cost that would be at or below the national 

average fee of $78 among seven fee-based newborn screening 

programs that have implemented SCID testing. It should also 
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be noted that the Virginia newborn screening program has not 

had a fee increase since 2006. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) proposes to add Severe 

Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID) to the newborn 

screening panel. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact
1. 

Blood spot newborn screening 

services are provided by the Department of General Services' 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) in 

partnership with the Virginia Department of Health. SCID is 

a primary immunodeficiency disease that is estimated to 

occur in approximately 1 out of every 50,000 live births. 

Undiagnosed cases are 100% fatal. Effective treatment for 

SCID is available if it is detected early. Screening is 

necessary as this disease cannot be detected through physical 

examinations. The addition of SCID to the newborn screening 

panel has been recommended by the Virginia Genetics 

Advisory Committee and on a national level, this disease has 

been added to the core panel of 31 genetic disorders included 

in the Recommended Uniform Screening Panel of the U.S. 

Secretary of Health and Human Services' Advisory 

Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children.  

In 2011, there were 101,032 live births in the 

Commonwealth.
2
 Thus, adding SCID to the newborn 

screening panel could potentially save approximately two 

lives a year. 

Newborn screening is a fee-for-service program, and the fee 

is paid by hospitals and other screeners (to DCLS) who must 

purchase the filter paper kits used for blood spot collection. 

Most screening is performed in hospitals, with about 10% to 

15% of screening performed by private physicians and 

military facilities.  

Since the SCID screening assay is based on new highly 

sensitive, specific molecular detection methodology not 

previously employed by the newborn screening laboratory, 

DCLS requires additional capital equipment, staff and some 

laboratory renovation to conduct SCID screening. Based on 

current cost estimates and the current number of samples 

being tested annually, the cost to add SCID screening will be 

$7.50 per sample. Adjustments to this estimate are possible if 

DCLS receives a grant for two-year funding from the Centers 

for Disease Control and Prevention. This funding source 

could potentially contribute up to $300,000 in both FY 2014 

and FY 2015 towards lab related costs associated with adding 

SCID to the panel.  

With approximately 100,000 live births a year, the estimated 

$7.50 cost increase will increase aggregate costs by about 

$750,000 per annum, while potentially saving approximately 

two lives a year. Assuming that we value life at more than 

$375,000 per person, the proposed addition of Severe 

Combined Immunodeficiency to the newborn screening panel 

should produce a net benefit. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendment 

will affect the 63 birth hospitals and birth centers, as well as 

their staff, and the sixty seven licensed midwives in Virginia. 

Newborns and their families will also be affected. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendment 

does not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment will 

likely require that the Department of General Services' Division 

of Consolidated Laboratory Services hire additional staff. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment is unlikely to significantly affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects. The proposed 

amendment is unlikely to significantly affect costs for small 

businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 

Adverse Impact. The proposed amendment is unlikely to 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendment is 

unlikely to significantly affect real estate development costs. 

Legal Mandate. The Department of Planning and Budget 

(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007.04 of the 

Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 14 

(10). Section 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, a determination 

of the public benefit, the projected number of businesses or 

other entities to whom the regulation would apply, the 

identity of any localities and types of businesses or other 

entities particularly affected, the projected number of persons 

and employment positions to be affected, the projected costs 

to affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with 

the regulation, and the impact on the use and value of private 

property. Further, if the proposed regulation has an adverse 

effect on small businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such 

economic impact analyses include (i) an identification and 

estimate of the number of small businesses subject to the 

regulation; (ii) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, and 

other administrative costs required for small businesses to 

comply with the regulation, including the type of professional 

skills necessary for preparing required reports and other 

documents; (iii) a statement of the probable effect of the 

regulation on affected small businesses; and (iv) a description 

of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of 

achieving the purpose of the regulation. The analysis 

presented above represents DPB's best estimate of these 

economic impacts. 

________________________________________________ 
1All data were provided by the Virginia Department of Health.  
2Calendar year 2011 was the most recent year this datum was available. 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the results of the 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adds "Severe Combined 

Immunodeficiency" to the list of newborn screening tests 

conducted pursuant to § 32.1-65 of the Code of Virginia.  

12VAC5-71-30. Core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases.  

A. The Virginia Newborn Screening System, which includes 

Virginia Newborn Screening Program and the Virginia Early 

Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, shall ensure that 

the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for 

which newborn screening is conducted is consistent with but 

not necessarily identical to the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services Secretary's Recommended Uniform 

Screening Panel. 

B. The department shall review, at least biennially, national 

recommendations and guidelines and may propose changes to 

the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for 

which newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests are 

conducted.  

C. The Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee may be 

consulted and provide advice to the commissioner on 

proposed changes to the core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases for which newborn dried-blood-spot 

screening tests are conducted.  

D. Infants under six months of age who are born in Virginia 

shall be screened in accordance with the provisions set forth 

in this chapter for the following heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases, which are identified through newborn dried-

blood-spot screening tests:  

1. Argininosuccinic aciduria (ASA);  

2. Beta-Ketothiolase deficiency (BKT);  

3. Biotinidase deficiency (BIOT);  

4. Carnitine uptake defect (CUD);  

5. Classical galactosemia (galactose-1-phosphate 

uridyltransferase deficiency) (GALT);  

6. Citrullinemia type I (CIT-I);  

7. Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH);  

8. Cystic fibrosis (CF);  

9. Glutaric acidemia type I (GA I);  

10. Hb S beta-thalassemia (Hb F,S,A);  

11. Hb SC-disease (Hb F,S,C);  

12. Hb SS-disease (sickle cell anemia) (Hb F, S); 

13. Homocystinuria (HCY);  

14. Isovaleric acidemia (IVA);  

15. Long chain L-3-Hydroxy acyl-CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency (LCHAD);  

16. Maple syrup urine disease (MSUD);  

17. Medium-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 

(MCAD);  

18. Methylmalonic acidemia (Methylmalonyl-CoA mutase 

deficiency) (MUT);  

19. Methylmalonic acidemia (Adenosylcobalamin 

synthesis deficiency) (CBL A, CBL B);  

20. Multiple carboxylase deficiency (MCD);  

21. Phenylketonuria (PKU);  

22. Primary congenital hypothyroidism (CH); 

23. Propionic acidemia (PROP);  

24. Severe combined immunodeficiency (SCID); 

24. 25. Tyrosinemia type I (TYR I);  

25. 26. Trifunctional protein deficiency (TFP);  

26. 27. Very long-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency (VLCAD);  

27. 28. 3-hydroxy 3-methyl glutaric aciduria (HMG); and  

28. 29. 3-Methylcrotonyl-CoA carboxylase deficiency (3-

MCC).  

E. Infants born in Virginia shall be screened for hearing loss 

in accordance with provisions set forth in §§ 32.1-64.1 and 

32.1-64.2 of the Code of Virginia and as governed by 

12VAC5-80.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-3569; Filed June 26, 2014, 9:40 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes 

in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Audiology and 

Speech-Language Pathology will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language 

Pathology (amending 18VAC30-20-170).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 13, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 
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Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, 

telephone (804) 367-4630, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove the Board of Education as a 

licensing entity for school speech-language pathologists 

thereby making the Board of Audiology and Speech-

Language Pathology the only licensing entity. In addition, 

the amendments put mechanisms in place for the transition 

in licensing. The amendments to this regulation conform to 

changes in the Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 781 of 

the 2014 Acts of Assembly. 

Part III  

Requirements for Licensure  

18VAC30-20-170. Requirements for licensure.  

A. The board may grant a license to an applicant who:  

1. Holds a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical 

Competence in the area in which he seeks licensure issued 

by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association, 

certification issued by the American Board of Audiology 

or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. 

Verification of currency shall be in the form of a certified 

letter from a recognized accrediting body issued within six 

months prior to licensure; and  

2. Has passed the qualifying examination from an 

accrediting body recognized by the board within three 

years preceding the date of applying for licensure, or has 

been actively engaged in the respective profession for 

which he seeks licensure for one of the past three 

consecutive years preceding the date of application; or  

B. The board may grant a license to an applicant for 

licensure as a speech-language pathologist who: 

1. Holds a master's degree or its equivalent as determined 

by the board or a doctoral degree from a college or 

university whose speech-language program is accredited 

by the Council on Academic Accreditation of the 

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or an 

equivalent accrediting body; and 

2. Has passed a qualifying examination from an accrediting 

body recognized by the board within three years preceding 

the date of applying for licensure in Virginia or has been 

actively engaged as a speech-language pathologist for one 

of the past three consecutive years preceding the date of 

application. 

C. The board may grant a license to an applicant as a school 

speech-language pathologist who: 1. Holds holds a master's 

degree in speech-language-pathology; and. 

2. Holds an endorsement in speech-language pathology 

from the Virginia Department of Education.  

D. Any individual who holds an active, renewable license 

issued by the Virginia Board of Education with a valid 

endorsement in speech-language pathology on June 30, 2014, 

shall be deemed qualified to obtain a school speech-language 

pathologist license from the board until July 1, 2016, or the 

date of expiration of such person's license issued by the 

Virginia Board of Education, whichever is later. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3989; Filed June 25, 2014, 8:36 a.m.  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-315. Regulations Governing 

Net Energy Metering (amending 20VAC5-315-10 through 

20VAC5-315-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-594 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Armando J. de Leon, Utilities Engineer, 

Division of Energy Regulation, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9392, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 

armando.deleon@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 268 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, 

§ 56-594 of the Code of Virginia was amended to expand 

net energy metering in the Commonwealth to include 

eligible agricultural customer-generators. Chapter 268 

requires the Commission to establish by regulation a 

program, beginning no later than July 1, 2014, for 

customers of investor-owned utilities and by July 1, 2015, 

for customers of electric cooperatives, to afford eligible 

agricultural customer-generators the opportunity to 

participate in net energy metering. The amendments to the 

rules provide a definition of agricultural customer-

generators, require electric utilities to permit such 

customer-generators to aggregate loads served by separate 

meters, as required by Chapter 268, and establish the 

parameters for participation in net energy metering by 

agricultural customer-generators.  

Changes from the proposed regulation include (i) revising 

the definition of "agricultural business" to include a 

business engaged in the production and sale of products 

collected from plants and animals, or plant and animal 

services; (ii) revising the definition of "person" to clarify 

that such term includes municipalities; (iii) in the 
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definition of "agricultural net metering customer," 

modifying the phrase "virtually aggregated into one 

account" to read "aggregated into one account" and 

changing the phrase "rate schedule" to "tariff," in each 

case to reflect the language used in Chapter 268; (iv) 

eliminating the requirement that customer-generators with 

capacity greater than 25 kilowatts must contact the electric 

distribution company prior to making financial 

commitments, thereby maintaining the existing rule that 

does not place a legal requirement on customers to provide 

such advanced notice; and (v) making a number of 

technical modifications to the Interconnection Form to be 

provided by customer-generators to the electric 

distribution company.  

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 23, 2014 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUE-2014-00003 

Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations 

governing net energy metering 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

The Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, 20 VAC 

5-315-10 et seq. ("Existing Rules"), adopted by the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") pursuant to § 56-

594 of the Code of Virginia, establish the requirements for 

participation by an eligible customer-generator in net energy 

metering in the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Existing 

Rules include conditions for interconnection and metering, 

billing, and contract requirements between net metering 

customers, electric distribution companies, and energy service 

providers. 

On January 27, 2014, the Commission entered an Order 

Establishing Proceeding ("Order") to consider revisions to the 

Existing Rules to reflect statutory changes enacted by Chapter 

268 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly ("Chapter 268"), which 

amended § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia to: (1) provide a 

definition of eligible agricultural customer-generators; 

(2) require utilities to permit agricultural customer-generators 

to aggregate loads served by multiple meters, as specified by 

Chapter 268; and (3) establish the required parameters for 

participation by such customer-generators in the net energy 

metering programs offered by investor-owned utilities and 

electric cooperatives under the Existing Rules. 

The Commission appended to its Order proposed 

amendments ("Proposed Rules") revising the Existing Rules, 

which were prepared by the Staff of the Commission to 

provide for participation by eligible agricultural customer-

generators in net metering programs pursuant to the revised 

statute. 

Notice of the proceeding and the Proposed Rules were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on February 

24, 2014. Additionally, each Virginia electric distribution 

company was directed to serve a copy of the Order upon each 

of their respective net metering customers.  Interested persons 

were directed to file any comments and requests for hearing 

on the Proposed Rules on or before March 27, 2014. 

Appalachian Power Company ("APCo"), Kentucky Utilities 

("KU"), Virginia Electric and Power Company ("Virginia 

Power"), the Virginia Electric Cooperatives 

("Cooperatives"),
1
 Virginia Farm Bureau Federation ("Farm 

Bureau"), Virginia Agribusiness Council ("VAC"), Nandua 

Oyster Company ("Nandua") and Joy Loving filed comments. 

No one requested a hearing on the Proposed Rules. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the regulations 

attached hereto as Appendix A ("Revised Rules") should be 

adopted as final rules. To the extent parties have requested 

changes to the Proposed Rules that go beyond the scope of 

such rules, we will not expand the scope of this proceeding to 

consider issues beyond those required to implement the 

amendments to § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia. 

Virginia Power, the Farm Bureau, and VAC each proposed 

revisions to the definition of "agricultural business" set forth 

in the Proposed Rules. The Proposed Rules defined 

agricultural business as "any sole proprietorship, corporation, 

partnership, electing small business (Subchapter S) 

corporation, or limited liability company engaged primarily in 

the production and sale of plants and animals useful to the 

public." We agree that additional clarity in this definition is 

appropriate and will adopt the language proposed by the Farm 

Bureau, which defines agricultural business as "any sole 

proprietorship, corporation, partnership, electing small 

business (Subchapter S) corporation, or limited liability 

company engaged primarily in the production and sale of 

plants and animals, products collected from plants and 

animals, or plant and animal services useful to the public." 

APCo and Virginia Power each proposed that the provision 

that utilities "may charge the customer for optional metering 

equipment capable of being read off-site" be changed to 

provide that utilities "shall" charge customers for such 

equipment. The utilities claim that this revision would 

eliminate confusion. We find that such change is unnecessary. 

The word may has been used since the inception of the net 

metering rules, and the Commission continues to believe that 

the word may gives utilities flexibility in assessing this 

charge. 

APCo recommends that utilities have at least 120 days from 

the effective date of the Revised Rules to develop procedures 

and to file new tariff schedules that incorporate agricultural 

net metering customers. APCo claims that this would permit 

each utility to coordinate the filing of these new tariff 

schedules simultaneously with any others that are to be filed 

at about the same time. We continue to find, however, that 

requiring new tariff schedules to be filed 60 days after the 

effective date of the Revised Rules is reasonable. 

KU proposed two revisions to the Proposed Rules. First, KU 

recommended that the Commission omit any language stating 
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that non-agricultural net metering customers may install 

multiple generating units. KU reasons that because the statute 

uses the word "aggregated" in its definition of eligible 

agricultural customer-generator, but does not do so in its 

definition of a non-agricultural customer-generator, it follows 

that only agricultural customers are permitted to own more 

than one generating unit. The statute, however, has never 

prohibited customer-generators from owning more than one 

generating unit.  We find that the statute's use of the word 

"aggregated" reflects that multiple meters may be involved in 

agricultural net metering and that the total generating capacity 

behind all of those meters is subject to the limit of 500 kW. 

KU also recommends that, because the revised statute refers 

to an "eligible agricultural customer-generator" as "a 

customer that operates a renewable energy generating facility 

as part of an agricultural business . . .," an agricultural net 

metering customer must be the operator of its facility and 

cannot contract with others to perform that operation. KU 

notes that the revised statute states that a non-agricultural net 

metering customer is "a customer that owns and operates, or 

contracts with another to own, operate, or both, an electrical 

generating facility . . .," but that the revised statute does not 

make an identical provision for agricultural net metering 

customers. Under the statute, an agricultural customer-

generator must be part of a larger agricultural business 

enterprise. The statute, however, does not expressly prohibit 

these agricultural businesses from entering into a contract 

with another to effectuate this specific part of its business, 

just as it could for other facets of the business.  Based on this 

record, we find that no such prohibition is necessary in the 

Revised Rules.  

Virginia Power recommends that the Proposed Rules 

specifically state that an agricultural net metering customer is 

subject to the same excess facilities charges associated with 

account aggregation as is any customer that aggregates 

metered accounts. Excess facilities charges, however, are 

already covered by the general provision of Rule 50 of the 

Existing Rules, which states that "[e]ach contract or tariff 

governing the relationship between a customer, electric 

distribution company or energy service supplier shall be 

identical, with respect to the rate structure, all retail rate 

components, and monthly charges, to the contract or tariff 

under which the same customer would be served if such 

customer were not net metering with the exceptions that a 

residential net metering customer or an agricultural net 

metering customer whose generating facility has a capacity 

that exceeds 10 kilowatts shall pay any applicable tariffed 

monthly standby charges to the supplier, and that time-of-use 

metering under an electricity supply service tariff having no 

demand charges is not permitted." Thus, we find that 

additional language directed toward agricultural net metering 

is unnecessary. 

Virginia Power recommends, at various points in the 

Proposed Rules, insertion of the phrases agricultural, non-

agricultural, net metering, or prospective to clarify the 

meaning of the applicable rule. We find that certain 

clarifications in this regard are reasonable and have revised 

the Proposed Rules to clarify whether the applicable rule 

applies to agricultural customer-generators, non-agricultural 

customer-generators, prospective customer-generators, or 

some combination of these categories. 

Virginia Power and the Cooperatives propose that the 

Proposed Rules be revised to accommodate language 

contained in the Terms and Conditions applicable to 

customers. For example, Virginia Power requests that the 

word "controlled" be changed to "leased" in the definition of 

"eligible agricultural customer-generator" in Rule 20 of the 

Proposed Rules in order to match the language in the 

Company's Terms and Conditions, which states that an 

applicant for electric service must be a bona fide owner or 

lessee. Similarly, Virginia Power and the Cooperatives 

recommend that the proposed definition of "contiguous sites" 

be pre-empted by the definition that appears in the Terms and 

Conditions of the utility. Virginia Power asserts that having a 

different definition of contiguity for agricultural net metering 

customers than for all of its other customers could create 

inconsistency, cause confusion, and be unworkable. The 

Cooperatives contend that the Commission should provide 

utilities the flexibility to define contiguity according to their 

own policies and practices. 

We will not revise the Proposed Rules as requested by 

Virginia Power and the Cooperatives. The revised statute uses 

the word controlled, not leased. In addition, we find that it is 

reasonable to develop a uniform definition of contiguity to be 

applied to eligible agricultural net metering customers under 

this statute. 

The Proposed Rules define "person" as "any individual, sole 

proprietorship, corporation, limited liability company, 

partnership, association, company, business, trust, joint 

venture, or other private legal entity, the Commonwealth, or 

any municipality." Virginia Power recommends that this 

definition be revised to match the definition contained in the 

Commission's Rules Governing Retail Access to Competitive 

Energy Services, 20 VAC 5-312-10, by changing the word 

"municipality" to "city, county, town, authority, or other 

political subdivision of the Commonwealth." We find that 

such change is reasonable and have revised the Proposed 

Rules accordingly. 

Virginia Power and the Cooperatives both propose that 

language be added to the Proposed Rules to state that all 

prospective net metering customers must contact the electric 

distribution company prior to making any financial 

commitments. In addition, the Proposed Rules suggested 

similar language that would require above-25 kW customers 

to contact the electric distribution company prior to making 

financial commitments.  Upon consideration of this matter, 

we find it is reasonable for the Revised Rules to continue to 

reflect the Existing Rules in this regard, which do not place a 
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legal requirement on customers to provide such advanced 

notice.  

Virginia Power recommends that an agricultural net 

metering customer not be permitted to interconnect 

generation in fewer than ninety days after submission of the 

required interconnection form in order to permit the utility to 

have time to "administer aggregation." Virginia Power's 

recommendation, however, could add between thirty and 

sixty days (depending on the size of the generator) of idle 

time before the facility could begin operation. Based on this 

record, we do not find that the existing requirements provide 

an inadequate amount of time for the utility to administer the 

interconnection request. 

Virginia Power recommends adding language stating that a 

final electrical inspection by the applicable building authority 

can serve in place of the currently required certification by a 

licensed electrician when installations are not done by an 

electrician, but rather by the customer or a licensed Virginia 

Class A or Class B general contractor.  Virginia Power states 

that the final electrical inspection reasonably substitutes for 

an electrician certification. We find that such change is 

reasonable and have revised the Interconnection Form to 

reflect this revision. 

Virginia Power also proposed a number of additional 

clarifications to the Interconnection Form and the Proposed 

Rules. Upon consideration thereof, we find that it is 

reasonable to implement Virginia Power's proposed revisions 

to the Interconnection Form and to insert the word "and" to 

Subdivision A 7 of Rule 50. 

The Cooperatives recommend that the word "virtually" be 

removed from the phrase "virtually aggregated into one 

account" where it appears in Rule 20 of the Proposed Rules in 

the definition of "agricultural net metering customer." The 

Cooperatives assert that this phrase adds ambiguity, given 

that the word "virtually" is not used in the statute.  We find 

that such suggestion is reasonable and adopt the Cooperatives' 

proposed modification. 

The proposed definition of "agricultural net metering 

customer" provides that any such account shall be served 

under the applicable rate schedule. The Cooperatives 

recommend that this language be revised to match the statute, 

which uses the word "tariff," rather than "rate schedule." We 

find that such suggestion is reasonable and adopt the 

Cooperatives' proposed modification. 

The Cooperatives also recommend amending the Proposed 

Rules to assure that the capacity of an agricultural net 

metering customer's generating facility has a reasonable 

relationship to the size of the customer's metered load. We do 

not find that such proposed revision is necessary. Rather, we 

conclude that the Existing Rules sufficiently require that a 

facility must be used primarily to provide energy to the 

associated net metered accounts. 

Nandua filed comments expressing concern that existing net 

metering customers would be forced to become agricultural 

net metering customers. Nandua did not request changes to 

the Proposed Rules. In response to Nandua's comments, the 

Commission clarifies that nothing in the Proposed Rules 

requires an existing customer-generator to become an 

agricultural customer-generator, so long as such customer's 

interconnection remains through a single meter. 

Finally, Joy Loving requested changes to the contiguity 

requirement, utility deadlines, and threshold for imposing 

standby charges. Upon consideration of these requests, we 

conclude that changes in this regard are unnecessary and that 

the Revised Rules adequately address such issues pursuant to 

the statute. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Revised Rules, as shown in Appendix A to this 

Order, are hereby adopted and are effective for customers 

of investor-owned electric utilities as of July 1, 2014. 

(2) The Revised Rules, as shown in Appendix A to this 

Order, are hereby adopted and are effective for customers 

of electric cooperatives as of July 1, 2015. 

(3) A copy of this Order with Appendix A, including the 

Revised Rules, shall be forwarded to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(4) On or before September 1, 2014, each investor-owned 

electric utility in the Commonwealth subject to Chapter 10 

(§ 56-232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia shall 

file with the Clerk of the Commission, in this docket, one 

(1) original document containing any revised tariff 

provisions necessary to implement the regulations adopted 

herein and shall also file a copy of the document 

containing the revised tariff provisions with the 

Commission's Division of Energy Regulation. The Clerk of 

the Commission need not distribute copies but shall make 

such filings available for public inspection in the Clerk's 

Office and post them on the Commission's website at: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(5) On or before September 1, 2015, each electric 

cooperative in the Commonwealth subject to Chapter 10 

(§ 56-232 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia shall 

file with the Clerk of the Commission, in this docket, one 

(1) original document containing any revised tariff 

provisions necessary to implement the regulations adopted 

herein and shall also file a copy of the document 

containing the revised tariff provisions with the 

Commission's Division of Energy Regulation. The Clerk of 

the Commission need not distribute copies but shall make 

such filings available for public inspection in the Clerk's 

Office and post them on the Commission's website at: 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(6) This docket shall remain open to receive the filings 

from electric utilities pursuant to Ordering Paragraphs (4) 

and (5). 
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AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all electric distribution companies 

licensed in Virginia as shown on Appendix B, hereto; and a 

copy shall be sent to the Commission's Office of General 

Counsel and Division of Energy Regulation. 

_______________________________________________ 
1 The filing entitled "Comments of the Virginia Electric Cooperatives" was 

submitted jointly on behalf of: A&N Electric Cooperative, BARC Electric 

Cooperative, Central Virginia Electric Cooperative, Community Electric 
Cooperative, Craig-Botetourt Electric Cooperative, Mecklenburg Electric 

Cooperative, Northern Neck Electric Cooperative, Northern Virginia Electric 

Cooperative, Powell Valley Electric Cooperative, Prince George Electric 
Cooperative, Rappahannock Electric Cooperative, Shenandoah Valley 

Electric Cooperative, and Southside Electric Cooperative, as well as the 

Virginia, Maryland & Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives. 

20VAC5-315-10. Applicability and scope. 

These regulations are promulgated pursuant to the 

provisions of § 56-594 of the Virginia Electric Utility 

Regulation Act (§ 56-576 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

They establish requirements intended to facilitate net energy 

metering for customers owning and operating, or contracting 

with persons to own or operate, or both, an electrical 

generator generators that uses use specific types of renewable 

energy, as defined by § 56-576 of the Code of Virginia as its 

the total fuel source. These regulations will standardize the 

interconnection requirements for such facilities and will 

govern the metering, billing, payment and contract 

requirements between net metering customers, electric 

distribution companies and energy service providers. 

Agricultural net metering customers are subject to the same 

provisions as nonagricultural net metering customers unless 

otherwise specified.  

The amendments regarding agricultural net metering apply 

to customers of investor-owned electric utilities on July 1, 

2014, and apply to customers of electric cooperatives on July 

1, 2015, as provided in the State Corporation Commission's 

Order Adopting Regulations, Case No. PUE-2014-00003, 

dated June 23, 2014, and published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations, Volume 30, Issue 23, July14, 2014. 

20VAC5-315-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agricultural business" means any sole proprietorship, 

corporation, partnership, electing small business (Subchapter 

S) corporation, or limited liability company engaged 

primarily in the production and sale of plants and animals [ , 

products collected from plants and animals, or plant and 

animal services that are ] useful to the public. 

"Agricultural net metering customer" means a customer that 

operates an electrical generating facility consisting of one or 

more agricultural renewable fuel generators having an 

aggregate generation capacity of not more than 500 kilowatts 

as part of an agricultural business under a net metering 

service arrangement. An agricultural net metering customer 

may be served by multiple meters of one utility that are 

located at separate but contiguous sites and that may be 

[ virtually ] aggregated into one account. This account shall 

be served under the appropriate [ rate schedule tariff ]. 

"Agricultural renewable fuel generator" [ or "agricultural 

renewable fuel generating facility" ] means [ an one or more ] 

electrical [ generator generators ] that: 

1. [ Uses Use ] as [ its their ] sole energy source solar 

power, wind power, or aerobic or anaerobic digester gas; 

2. The agricultural [ net metering ] customer owns and 

operates, or has contracted with other persons to own or 

operate, or both; 

3. [ Is Are ] located on land owned or controlled by the 

agricultural business; 

4. [ Is Are ] connected to the [ agricultural net metering ] 

customer's wiring on the [ agricultural net metering ] 

customer's side of [ its the agricultural net metering 

customer's ] interconnection with the distributor; 

5. [ Is Are ] interconnected and operated in parallel with an 

electric company's distribution facilities; and 

6. [ Is Are ] used primarily to provide energy to metered 

accounts of the agricultural business. 

"Billing period" means, as to a particular [ agricultural net 

metering customer or a net metering ] customer, the time 

period between the two meter readings upon which the 

electric distribution company and the energy service provider 

calculate [ the a agricultural net metering customer's or net 

metering ] customer's bills. 

"Billing period credit" means, for a nontime-of-use 

[ agricultural net metering customer or a nontime-of-use ] net 

metering customer, the quantity of electricity generated and 

fed back into the electric grid by the [ agricultural net 

metering ] customer's renewable fuel [ agricultural renewable 

fuel generator or generators or by the net metering customer's 

renewable fuel ] generator or generators in excess of the 

electricity supplied to the customer over the billing period. 

For time-of-use [ agricultural net metering customers or time-

of-use ] net metering customers, billing period credits are 

determined separately for each time-of-use tier. 

"Contiguous sites" means a group of land parcels in which 

each parcel shares at least one boundary point with at least 

one other parcel in the group. Property whose surface is 

divided only by public right-of-way is considered contiguous. 

"Customer" means a net metering customer or an 

agricultural net metering customer. 

"Demand charge-based time-of-use tariff" means a retail 

tariff for electric supply service that has two or more time-of-

use tiers for energy-based charges and an electricity supply 

demand (kilowatt) charge. 

"Electric distribution company" means the entity that owns 

and/or operates the distribution facilities delivering electricity 

to the net metering [ a customer's the ] premises [ of an 
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agricultural net metering customer or a net metering 

customer ]. 

"Energy service provider (supplier)" means the entity 

providing electricity supply service [ , either tariffed or 

competitive service, ] to [ an agricultural net metering 

customer or ] a net metering customer [ either as tariffed or 

competitive service ]. 

"Excess generation" means the amount of [ electricity 

generated by ] the renewable fuel generator [ a customer's 

electrical generating facility consisting of one or more 

generators electrical energy generated ] in excess of the 

[ electricity electrical energy ] consumed by the [ agricultural 

net metering customer or net metering ] customer over the 

course of the net metering period. For time-of-use 

[ agricultural net metering customers or net metering ] 

customers, excess generation is determined separately for 

each time-of-use tier. 

"Generator" [ or "generating facility" ] means [ a an 

electrical generating facility consisting of one or more ] 

renewable fuel [ generator generators ] or [ an one or more ] 

agricultural renewable fuel [ generator generators that meet 

the criteria under the definition of "net metering customer" 

and "agricultural net metering customer," respectively ].  

"Net metering customer (customer)" means a customer 

owning and operating, or contracting with other persons to 

own or operate, or both, a an electrical generating facility 

consisting of one or more renewable fuel generator generators 

having an aggregate generation capacity of not more than 20 

kilowatts for residential customers and not more than 500 

kilowatts for nonresidential customers unless the electric 

distribution company has chosen a higher capacity limit for 

nonresidential customers in its net metering tariff. [ This The 

generating ] facility shall be operated under a net metering 

service arrangement. 

"Net metering period" means each successive 12-month 

period beginning with the first meter reading date following 

the date of final interconnection of the renewable fuel 

generator [ a an agricultural net metering customer or a net 

metering ] customer's [ electrical ] generating facility 

consisting of one or more [ agricultural renewable fuel ] 

generators [ or one or more renewable fuel generators, 

respectively, ] with the electric [ distribution ] company's 

distribution facilities. 

"Net metering service" means providing retail electric 

service to [ a an agricultural net metering ] customer 

operating [ a ] renewable fuel [ generator or generators an 

agricultural renewable fuel generating facility or a net 

metering customer operating a renewable fuel generating 

facility ] and measuring the difference, over the net metering 

period, between the electricity supplied to the customer from 

the electric grid and the electricity generated and fed back to 

the electric grid by the customer. 

"Person" means any individual, sole proprietorship, 

corporation, limited liability company, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

private legal entity and, the Commonwealth, or any 

[ municipality city, county, town, authority, or other political 

subdivision of the Commonwealth ]. 

"Renewable Energy Certificate (REC)" or "REC" represents 

the renewable energy attributes associated with the 

production of one megawatt-hour (MWh) of electrical energy 

generated by a renewable fuel generator. 

"Renewable fuel generator" [ or "renewable fuel generating 

facility" ] means [ an one or more ] electrical generating 

facility [ generator generators ] that: 

1. Has an alternating current capacity of not more than 20 

kilowatts for residential customers and not more than 500 

kilowatts for nonresidential customers unless the electric 

distribution company has chosen a higher capacity limit for 

nonresidential customers in its net metering tariff; 

2. 1. [ Uses Use ] renewable energy, as defined by § 56-

576 of the Code of Virginia, as [ its their ] total fuel source; 

3. 2. The net metering customer owns and operates, or has 

contracted with other persons to own or operate, or both; 

4. 3. [ Is Are ] located on the [ net metering ] customer's 

premises and [ is ] connected to the [ net metering ] 

customer's wiring on the [ net metering ] customer's side of 

its interconnection with the distributor; 

5. 4. [ Is Are ] interconnected pursuant to a net metering 

arrangement and operated in parallel with the electric 

[ distribution ] company's distribution facilities; and 

6. 5. [ Is Are ] intended primarily to offset all or part of the 

net metering customer's own electricity requirements. 

"Time-of-use net metering customer (time-of-use customer)" 

means [ a ] net metering [ an agricultural net metering 

customer or net metering ] customer receiving retail 

electricity supply service under a demand charge-based time-

of-use tariff. 

"Time-of-use period" means an interval of time over which 

the energy (kilowatt-hour) rate charged to a time-of-use 

customer does not change. 

"Time-of-use tier (tier)" or "tier" means all time-of-use 

periods given the same name (e.g., on-peak, off-peak, critical 

peak, etc.) for the purpose of time-differentiating energy 

(kilowatt-hour)-based charges. The rates associated with a 

particular tier may vary by day and by season. 

20VAC5-315-30. Company notification.  

A. The A prospective [ agricultural ] net metering customer 

or a prospective [ agricultural ] net metering customer 

[ (hereinafter referred to as "customer") ] shall submit a 

completed commission-approved notification form to the 

electric distribution company and, if different from the 

electric distribution company, to the energy service provider, 

according to the time limits in this subsection. If the 

[ prospective ] net metering customer has contracted with 

another person to own or operate, or both, the renewable fuel 
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generator or generators, then the notice will include detailed, 

current, and accurate contract information for the owner or 

operator, or both, including without limitation, the name and 

title of one or more individuals responsible for the 

interconnection and operation of the generator or generators, 

a telephone number, a physical street address other than a 

post office box, a fax number, and an email address for each 

such person or persons.  

1. For a renewable fuel generator A [ prospective ] 

customer proposing to install an electrical generating 

facility with an alternating current capacity of 25 kilowatts 

or less, the notification form shall be submitted submit the 

notification form at least 30 days prior to the date the 

[ prospective ] customer intends to interconnect his 

renewable fuel generator the [ facility's generator or 

generators generating facility ] to the electric 

[ distribution ] company's distribution facilities. Such net 

metering customer shall have all All equipment necessary 

to complete the grid interconnection [ of the generating 

facility ] shall have been installed prior to [ such 

submitting the ] notification [ form ]. The electric 

distribution company shall have 30 days from the date of 

notification to determine whether the requirements 

contained in 20VAC5-315-40 have been met. The date of 

notification shall be considered to be the third day 

following the mailing of such the notification form by the 

[ prospective ] net metering customer.  

2. For a renewable fuel generator [ The A prospective ] 

customer proposing to install an electrical generating 

facility with an alternating current capacity greater than 25 

kilowatts, shall submit the notification form shall be 

submitted at least 60 days prior to the date the 

[ prospective ] customer intends to interconnect his 

renewable fuel generator the [ facility's generator or 

generators generating facility ] to the electric 

[ distribution ] company's distribution facilities. Such net 

metering [ The customer shall have contacted the electric 

distribution company prior to making financial 

commitments and shall have installed all All ] equipment 

necessary to complete the grid interconnection installed of 

the [ facility's generator or generators generating facility 

shall have been installed ] prior to such submitting the 

notification form. [ The prospective customer should 

contact its electric distribution company prior to making 

financial commitments. ] Such net metering customer 

should contact his electric distribution company prior to 

making financial commitments. The electric distribution 

company shall have 60 days from the date of notification to 

determine whether the requirements contained in 20VAC5-

315-40 have been met. The date of notification shall be 

considered to be the third day following the mailing of 

such the notification form by the [ prospective ] net 

metering customer.  

B. Thirty-one days after the date of notification for 

renewable fuel generators [ an electrical a ] generating facility 

with a rated an alternating current capacity of 25 kilowatts or 

less, and 61 days after the date of notification for renewable 

fuel generators a [ generating ] facility with an alternating 

current capacity greater than 25 kilowatts, a net metering the 

[ prospective ] customer may interconnect his renewable fuel 

generator and begin operation of said renewable fuel 

generator and begin operation of the [ generating ] facility 

unless the electric distribution company or the energy service 

provider requests a waiver of this requirement under the 

provisions of 20VAC5-315-80 prior to said the 31st or 61st 

day, respectively. In cases where the electric distribution 

company or energy service provider requests a waiver, a copy 

of the request for waiver must be mailed simultaneously by 

the requesting party to the net metering [ prospective ] 

customer and to the commission's Division of Energy 

Regulation.  

C. The electric distribution company shall file with the 

commission's Division of Energy Regulation a copy of each 

completed notification form within 30 days of final 

interconnection.  

20VAC5-315-40. Conditions of interconnection. 

A. A prospective [ net metering ] customer [ or prospective 

agricultural net metering customer ] may begin operation of 

his renewable fuel generator the [ electrical ] generating 

facility on an interconnected basis when: 

1. The net metering customer has properly notified both the 

electric distribution company and energy service provider 

(in accordance with 20VAC5-315-30) of [ his the 

customer's ] intent to interconnect. 

2. If required by the electric distribution company's net 

metering tariff, the net metering customer has installed a 

lockable, electric distribution company accessible, load 

breaking manual disconnect switch at each of the facility's 

generators. 

3. [ A In cases where a licensed electrician installs the 

customer's generator or generators, the ] licensed 

electrician has certified, by signing the commission-

approved notification form, that any required manual 

disconnect switch has or switches have been installed 

properly and that the renewable fuel generator has or 

generators have been installed in accordance with the 

manufacturer's specifications as well as all applicable 

provisions of the National Electrical Code. [ If the 

customer or licensed Virginia Class A or B general 

contractor installs the customer's generator or generators, 

the signed final electrical inspection can be used in lieu of 

the licensed electrician's certification. ] 

4. The vendor has certified, by signing the commission-

approved notification form, that the renewable fuel 

generator or generators being installed is are in compliance 

with the requirements established by Underwriters 

Laboratories or other national testing laboratories in 

accordance with IEEE Standard 1547, Standard for 
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Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric Power 

Systems, July 2003. 

5. In the case of static inverter-connected renewable fuel 

generators with an alternating current capacity in excess of 

10 kilowatts, the net metering customer has had the 

inverter settings inspected by the electric distribution 

company. The inspecting electric distribution company 

may impose a fee on the net metering customer of no more 

than $50 for such inspection each generator that requires 

this inspection. 

6. In the case of nonstatic inverter-connected renewable 

fuel generators, the net metering customer has 

interconnected according to the electric distribution 

company's interconnection guidelines and the electric 

distribution company has inspected all protective 

equipment settings. The inspecting electric distribution 

company may impose a fee on the net metering customer 

of no more than $50 for such each generator that requires 

this inspection. 

7. In the case of renewable fuel generators with a 

customer's electrical generating facility having an 

alternating current capacity greater than 25 kilowatts, the 

following requirements shall be met before interconnection 

may occur: 

a. Electric distribution facilities and customer impact 

limitations. A renewable fuel customer's generator shall 

not be permitted to interconnect to distribution facilities 

if the interconnection would reasonably lead to damage 

to any of the electric distribution company's facilities or 

would reasonably lead to voltage regulation or power 

quality problems at other customer revenue meters due to 

the incremental effect of the generator on the 

performance of the electric distribution system, unless 

the customer reimburses the electric distribution 

company for its cost to modify any facilities needed to 

accommodate the interconnection. 

b. Secondary, service, and service entrance limitations. 

The capacity of the renewable fuel generator generators 

at any one service location shall be less than the capacity 

of the electric distribution company-owned secondary, 

service, and service entrance cable connected to the point 

of interconnection, unless the customer reimburses the 

electric distribution company for its cost to modify any 

facilities needed to accommodate the interconnection. 

c. Transformer loading limitations. The renewable fuel A 

customer's generator shall not have the ability to 

overload the electric distribution [ company company's ] 

transformer, or any transformer winding, beyond 

manufacturer or nameplate ratings, unless the customer 

reimburses the electric distribution company for its cost 

to modify any facilities needed to accommodate the 

interconnection. 

d. Integration with electric distribution company facilities 

grounding. The grounding scheme of the renewable fuel 

each generator shall comply with IEEE 1547, Standard 

for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with Electric 

Power Systems, July 2003, and shall be consistent with 

the grounding scheme used by the electric distribution 

company. If requested by a prospective [ net metering ] 

customer, the electric distribution company shall assist 

the prospective [ net metering ] customer in selecting a 

grounding scheme that coordinates with its distribution 

system. 

e. Balance limitation. The renewable fuel generator or 

generators shall not create a voltage imbalance of more 

than 3.0% at any other customer's revenue meter if the 

electric distribution company transformer, with the 

secondary connected to the point of interconnection, is a 

three-phase transformer, unless the customer reimburses 

the electric distribution company for its cost to modify 

any facilities needed to accommodate the 

interconnection. 

B. A prospective net metering customer shall not be allowed 

to interconnect a renewable fuel generator if doing so will 

cause the total rated generating alternating current capacity of 

all interconnected renewable fuel net metered generators [ , as 

defined in 20VAC5-315-20, ] within that customer's electric 

distribution company's Virginia service territory to exceed 

1.0% of that company's Virginia peak-load forecast for the 

previous year. In any case where a prospective net metering 

customer has submitted a notification form required by 

20VAC5-315-30 and that customer's interconnection would 

cause the total rated generating alternating current capacity of 

all interconnected renewable fuel net metered generators [ , as 

defined in 20VAC5-315-20, ] within that electric distribution 

company's service territory to exceed 1.0% of that company's 

Virginia peak-load forecast for the previous year, the electric 

distribution company shall, at the time it becomes aware of 

the fact, send written notification to such the prospective net 

metering customer and to the commission's Division of 

Energy Regulation that the interconnection is not allowed. In 

addition, upon request from any customer, the electric 

distribution company shall provide to the customer the 

amount of capacity still available for interconnection pursuant 

to § 56-594 D of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Neither the electric distribution company nor the energy 

service provider shall impose any charges upon a net 

metering customer for any interconnection requirements 

specified by this chapter, except as provided under 

subdivisions A 5 [ and, ] 6 [ , and 7 ] of this section, and 

20VAC5-315-50 as related to additional metering. 

D. The net energy metering A customer shall immediately 

notify the electric distribution company of any changes in the 

ownership of, operational responsibility for, or contact 

information for any of the generator customer's generators. 
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20VAC5-315-50. Metering, billing, payment and contract 

or tariff considerations. 

Net metered energy shall be measured in accordance with 

standard metering practices by metering equipment capable of 

measuring (but not necessarily displaying) power flow in both 

directions. Each contract or tariff governing the relationship 

between a net metering customer, electric distribution 

company or energy service provider shall be identical, with 

respect to the rate structure, all retail rate components, and 

monthly charges, to the contract or tariff under which the 

same customer would be served if such customer was were 

not a [ an agricultural net metering customer or a ] net 

metering [ customer ] with the exceptions that a residential 

customer-generator net metering customer or an agricultural 

net metering customer whose generating facility has a 

capacity that exceeds 10 kilowatts shall pay any applicable 

tariffed monthly standby charges to his the supplier, and that 

time-of-use metering under an electricity supply service tariff 

having no demand charges is not permitted. Said contract or 

tariff shall be applicable to both the electric energy supplied 

to, and consumed from, the grid by that customer. 

In instances where a net metering customer's metering 

equipment is of a type for which meter readings are made off 

site and where this equipment has, or will be, installed for the 

convenience of the electric distribution company, the electric 

distribution company shall provide the necessary additional 

metering equipment to enable net metering service at no 

charge to the net metering customer. In instances where a net 

metering customer has requested, and where the electric 

distribution company would not have otherwise installed, 

metering equipment that is intended to be read off site, the 

electric distribution company may charge the net metering 

customer its actual cost of installing any additional equipment 

necessary to implement net metering service. A time-of-use 

net metering customer shall bear the incremental metering 

costs associated with net metering. Any incremental metering 

costs associated with measuring the total output of the 

renewable fuel any generator or generators for the purposes of 

receiving renewable energy certificates shall be installed at 

the customer's expense unless otherwise negotiated between 

the customer and the REC purchaser. Agricultural net 

metering customers may be responsible for the cost of 

additional metering equipment necessary to accomplish 

[ virtual account ] aggregation. 

A net metering The customer shall receive no compensation 

for excess generation unless the net metering customer has 

entered into a power purchase agreement with its supplier. 

Upon the written request of the net metering customer, the 

customer's supplier shall enter into a power purchase 

agreement for the excess generation for one or more net 

metering periods, as requested by the net metering customer. 

The written request of the net metering customer shall be 

submitted prior to the beginning of the first net metering 

period covered by the power purchase agreement. The power 

purchase agreement shall be consistent with this chapter. If 

the customer's supplier is an investor-owned electric 

distribution company, the supplier shall be obligated by the 

power purchase agreement to purchase the excess generation 

for the requested net metering periods at a price equal to the 

PJM Interconnection, L.L.C. (PJM) zonal day-ahead annual, 

simple average LMP (locational marginal price) for the PJM 

load zone in which the electric distribution company's 

Virginia retail service territory resides (simple average of 

hourly LMPs, by tiers, for time-of-use customers), as 

published by the PJM Market Monitoring Unit, for the most 

recent calendar year ending on or before the end of each net 

metering period, unless the electric distribution company and 

the net metering customer mutually agree to a higher price or 

unless, after notice and opportunity for hearing, the 

commission establishes a different price or pricing 

methodology. If the Virginia retail service territory of the 

investor-owned electric distribution company does not reside 

within a PJM load zone, the power purchase agreement shall 

obligate the electric distribution company to purchase excess 

generation for the requested net metering periods at a price 

equal to the systemwide PJM day-ahead annual, simple 

average LMP (simple average of hourly LMPs, by tiers, for 

time-of-use customers), as published by the PJM Market 

Monitoring Unit, for the most recent calendar year ending on 

or before the end of each net metering period, unless the 

electric distribution company and the net metering customer 

mutually agree to a higher price or unless, after notice and 

opportunity for hearing, the commission establishes a 

different price or pricing methodology. 

If the customer's supplier is a member-owned electric 

cooperative, the supplier shall be obligated by the power 

purchase agreement to purchase excess generation for the 

requested net metering periods at a price equal to the simple 

average (by tiers for time-of-use customers) of the electric 

cooperative's hourly avoidable cost of energy, including fuel, 

based on the energy and energy-related charges of its primary 

wholesale power supplier for the net metering period, unless 

the electric distribution company and the net metering 

customer mutually agree to a higher price or unless, after 

notice and opportunity for hearing, the commission 

establishes a different price or pricing methodology. 

If the customer's supplier is a competitive supplier, the 

supplier shall be obligated by the power purchase agreement 

to purchase the excess generation for the requested net 

metering periods at a price equal to the systemwide PJM day-

ahead annual, simple average LMP (simple average of hourly 

LMPs, by tiers, for time-of-use customers), as published by 

the PJM Market Monitoring Unit, for the most recent 

calendar year ending on or before the end of each net 

metering period, unless the supplier and the net metering 

customer mutually agree to a higher price or unless, after 

notice and opportunity for hearing, the commission 

establishes a different price or pricing methodology. 
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The customer's supplier shall make full payment annually to 

the net metering customer within 30 days following the latter 

of the end of the net metering period or, if applicable, the date 

of the PJM Market Monitoring Unit's publication of the 

previous calendar-year's applicable zonal or systemwide PJM 

day-ahead annual, simple average LMP, or hourly LMP, as 

appropriate. The supplier may offer the net metering customer 

the choice of an account credit in lieu of a direct payment. 

The option of a net metering customer to request payment 

from its supplier for excess generation and the price or 

pricing formula shall be clearly delineated in the net metering 

tariff of the electric distribution company or timely provided 

by the customer's competitive supplier, as applicable. A copy 

of such tariff, or an Internet link to such tariff, at the option of 

the customer, shall be provided to each [ prospective ] 

customer requesting interconnection of [ a ] renewable fuel 

generator [ an electrical ] generating facility. A competitive 

supplier shall provide in its contract with the net metering 

customer the price or pricing formula for excess generation. 

For a nontime-of-use net metering customer, in any billing 

period in which there is a billing period credit, the customer 

shall be required to pay only the nonusage sensitive charges, 

including any applicable standby charges, for that billing 

period. For a time-of-use net metering customer, in any 

billing period for which there are billing period credits in all 

tiers, the customer shall be required to pay only the demand 

charge or charges, nonusage sensitive charges, and any 

applicable standby charges, for that billing period. Any 

billing period credits shall be accumulated, carried forward, 

and applied at the first opportunity to any billing periods 

having positive net consumptions (by tiers, in the case of 

time-of-use customers). However, any accumulated billing 

period credits remaining unused at the end of a net metering 

period shall be carried forward into the next net metering 

period only to the extent that such accumulated billing period 

credits carried forward do not exceed the net metering 

customer's billed consumption for the current net metering 

period, adjusted to exclude accumulated billing period credits 

carried forward and applied from the previous net metering 

period (recognizing tiers for time-of-use customers). 

A net metering customer owns any renewable energy 

certificates associated with the total output of its renewable 

fuel generator [ electrical ] generating facility. A supplier is 

only obligated to purchase a net metering customer's RECs if 

the net metering customer has exercised its one-time option at 

the time of signing a power purchase agreement with its 

supplier to include a provision requiring the purchase by the 

supplier of all generated RECs over the duration of the power 

purchase agreement.  

Payment for all whole RECs purchased by the supplier 

during a net metering period in accordance with the purchase 

power purchase agreement shall be made at the same time as 

the payment for any excess generation. The supplier will post 

a credit to the customer's account, or the customer may elect a 

direct payment. Any fractional REC remaining shall not 

receive immediate payment, but may be carried forward to 

subsequent net metering periods for the duration of the power 

purchase agreement.  

The rate of the payment by the supplier for a customer's 

RECs shall be the daily unweighted average of the "CR" 

component of Virginia Electric and Power Company's 

Virginia jurisdiction Rider G tariff in effect over the period 

for which the rate of payment for the excess generation is 

determined, unless the customer's supplier is not Virginia 

Electric and Power Company, and that supplier has an 

applicable Virginia retail renewable energy tariff containing a 

comparable REC commodity price component, in which case 

that price component shall be the basis of the rate of payment. 

The commission may, with notice and opportunity for 

hearing, set another rate of payment or methodology for 

setting the rate of payment for RECs. 

To the extent that RECs are not sold to the net metering 

customer's supplier, they may be sold to any willing buyer at 

any time at a mutually agreeable price.  

20VAC5-315-60. Liability insurance.  

A net metering customer with a renewable fuel generator 

operating [ an electrical a ] generating facility with a rated an 

alternating current capacity not exceeding 10 kilowatts shall 

maintain homeowners, commercial, or other insurance 

providing coverage in the amount of at least $100,000 for the 

liability of the insured against loss arising out of the use 

operation of a renewable fuel generator the facility, and for a 

renewable fuel generator [ generating ] facility with a rated an 

alternating current capacity exceeding 10 kilowatts such 

coverage shall be in the amount of at least $300,000. Net 

metering customers Customers shall not be required to obtain 

liability insurance with limits higher than that which is stated 

in this section; nor shall such customers be required to 

purchase additional liability insurance where the customer's 

existing insurance policy provides coverage against loss 

arising out of the use operation of a renewable fuel generator 

an electrical generating facility by virtue of not explicitly 

excluding coverage for such loss.  

20VAC5-315-70. Additional controls and tests.  

Except as provided in 20VAC5-315-40 A 5 and 6 and 

20VAC5-315-50 as related to additional metering, no net 

metering customer shall be required to pay for additional 

metering, testing or controls in order to interconnect with the 

electric distribution company or energy service provider. 

However, this chapter shall not preclude a net metering 

customer, an electric distribution company or an energy 

service provider from installing additional controls or meters, 

or from conducting additional tests. The expenses associated 

with these additional meters, tests or equipment shall be 

borne by the party desiring the additional meters, tests or 

equipment.  
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NOTICE: The following form used in administering the 

regulation was filed by the agency. The form is not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of the form, 

which has a hyperlink, to access it. The form is also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 

Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (20VAC5-315)  

Net Metering Interconnection Notification, Form NMIN 

(eff. 9/06).  

Net Metering Interconnection Notification, Form NMIN 

(rev. 7/14) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3950; Filed June 23, 2014, 2:31 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-41. Neighborhood 

Assistance Tax Credit Program (amending 22VAC40-41-

20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 58.1-439.20 and 63.2-217 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Wanda Stevenson, Neighborhood 

Assistance Program Technician, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7924, or email 

wanda.stevenson@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment conforms the regulation to Chapter 416 of 

the 2014 Acts of Assembly by increasing to 50% the 

percentage of low-income persons that must be served by a 

neighborhood organization for the organization to be 

eligible for participation in the Neighborhood Assistance 

Program.  

22VAC40-41-20. Purpose; procedure for becoming an 

approved organization; eligibility criteria; termination of 

approved organization; appeal procedure.  

A. The purpose of the Neighborhood Assistance Program is 

to encourage business firms and individuals to make 

donations to neighborhood organizations for the benefit of 

low-income persons. 

B. Neighborhood organizations that do not provide 

education services and that wish to become an approved 

organization must submit an application to the commissioner. 

Neighborhood organizations that provide education services 

must submit an application to the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction. The application submitted to the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction must comply with regulations or 

guidelines adopted by the Board of Education. The 

application submitted to the commissioner must contain the 

following information: 

1. A description of eligibility as a neighborhood 

organization, the programs being conducted, the low-

income persons assisted, the estimated amount that will be 

donated to the programs, and plans for implementing the 

programs. 

2. Proof of the neighborhood organization's current 

exemption from income taxation under the provisions of 

§ 501(c)(3) or § 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code, or 

the organization's eligibility as a community action agency 

as defined in the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 

(42 USC § 2701 et seq.) or housing authority as defined in 

§ 36-3 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. For neighborhood organizations with total revenues 

(including the value of all donations) (i) in excess of 

$100,000 for the organization's most recent year ended, an 

audit or review for such year performed by an independent 

certified public accountant or (ii) of $100,000 or less for 

the organization's most recent year ended, a compilation 

for such year performed by an independent certified public 

accountant; a copy of the organization's current federal 

form 990; a current brochure describing the organization's 

programs; and a copy of the annual report filed with the 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' 

Division of Consumer Protection. 

4. A statement of objective and measurable outcomes that 

are expected to occur and the method the organization will 

use to evaluate the program's effectiveness. 

C. To be eligible for participation in the Neighborhood 

Assistance Program, the applicant and any of its affiliates 

must meet the following criteria: 

1. Applicants must have been in operation as a viable 

entity, providing neighborhood assistance for low-income 

people, for at least 12 months. 

2. Applicants must be able to demonstrate that at least 40% 

50% of the total people served and at least 50% of the total 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f667e003950~3&typ=0%20&actno=003950&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f667e003950~3&typ=0%20&actno=003950&mime=application/pdf
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expenditures were for low-income persons or eligible 

students with disabilities.  

3. Applicant's audit must not contain any significant 

findings or areas of concern for the ongoing operation of 

the neighborhood organization. 

4. Applicants must demonstrate that at least 75% of total 

revenue received is expended to support their ongoing 

programs each year. 

D. The application period will start no later than March 15 

of each year. All applications must be received by the 

Department of Social Services no later than the first business 

day of May. An application filed without the required audit, 

review, or compilation will be considered timely filed 

provided that the audit, review, or compilation is filed within 

30 days immediately following the deadline. 

E. Those applicants submitting all required information and 

reports and meeting the eligibility criteria described in this 

section will be determined an approved organization. The 

program year will run from July 1 through June 30 of the 

following year. 

F. The commissioner may terminate an approved 

organization's eligibility based on a finding of program abuse 

involving illegal activities or fraudulent reporting on 

contributions. 

G. Any neighborhood organization that disagrees with the 

disposition of its application, or its termination as an 

approved organization, may appeal to the commissioner in 

writing for a reconsideration. Such requests must be made 

within 30 days of the denial or termination. The 

commissioner will act on the request and render a final 

decision within 30 days of the request for reconsideration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4049; Filed June 19, 2014, 11:03 a.m.  

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent 

Living (amending 22VAC40-201-10; adding 22VAC40-

201-115).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-900, and 63.2-915 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: June 25, 2014, through December 24, 2015. 

Agency Contact: Phyl Parrish, Department of Social Services, 

Division of Family Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219-2901, telephone (804) 726-7926, FAX 

(804) 726-7895, TTY (800) 828-1849, or email 

phyl.parrish@dss.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

The federal Administration for Children and Families, 

Children's Bureau, determined that in order to continue to 

receive federal Title IV-E funding for its foster care 

program, Virginia must establish a fair hearings process 

for individuals eligible for benefits under that program. 

Chapter 437 of the 2013 Acts of Assembly, which pertains 

to appeals to the Commissioner of Social Services, 

requires the State Board of Social Services to promulgate 

regulations to implement the requirements of the act and 

requires that the regulations be effective within 280 days of 

enactment. Section 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia states 

that agencies may adopt emergency regulations in 

situations in which Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act or federal law or federal regulation 

requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or less 

from its enactment, and the regulation is not exempt under 

the provisions of subdivision A 4 of § 2.2-4006. 

This regulatory action establishes a hearing process for 

individuals who may receive a payment or service that is 

provided under § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia and 

provides that those individuals may appeal to the 

Commissioner of Social Services when they believe a 

benefit has been denied or unreasonably delayed. The key 

provisions of the regulation address (i) who has a right to 

appeal to the commissioner, (ii) what decisions or benefits 

may not be appealed, (iii) who is notified of the right to an 

appeal and what is included in the notice, (iv) the ability of 

the commissioner to delegate the duty and authority to duly 

qualified officers, (v) information about the decision, and 

(vi) the appellant's right to judicial review.  

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis, 

and that is open to the participation of the birth parents or 

prior custodians and other individuals significant to the child 

and family, to evaluate the current status and effectiveness of 

the objectives in the service plan and the services being 

provided for the immediate care of the child and the plan to 

achieve a permanent home for the child.  

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services 

provided to adoptive parents on behalf of a child with special 

needs.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the child-placing agency and the adoptive parents of 

a child with special needs to provide for the unmet financial 

and service needs of the child.  

"Adoption Manual" means Volume VII, Section III, Chapter 

C - Adoption/Agency Placement of the Service Program 

Manual of the Virginia Department of Social Services dated 

October 2009/March 2010.  

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 
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requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoption search" means interviews and written or 

telephone inquiries made by a local department to locate and 

advise the biological parents or siblings of an adult adoptee's 

request, by Application for Disclosure or petition to the court, 

for identifying information from a closed adoption record. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 

adoption.  

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption. The adoptive home study is included 

in the dual approval process. 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 

approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 

placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a 

child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 

approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.  

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption.  

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 

the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 

a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance 

means a child who meets the definition of a child with special 

needs set forth in §§ 63.2-1300 and 63.2-1301 B of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Claim for benefits" as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia and 22VAC40-201-115 means (i) foster care 

maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the 

services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan, 

the foster care services identified in an individual family 

service plan developed by a family assessment and planning 

team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the 

Comprehensive Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 of the Code of 

Virginia et seq.), or a transitional living plan for independent 

living services; (iii) the placement of a child through an 

agreement with the child's parents or guardians, where legal 

custody remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care 

prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or 

(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved 

family is outside the locality with the legal custody of the 

child, in accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23). 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team (CPMT)" 

means a team appointed by the local governing body to 

receive funds pursuant to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of 

Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. The powers and duties of 

the CPMT are set out in § 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Comprehensive Services Act for At-Risk Youth and 

Families (CSA)" means a collaborative system of services 

and funding that is child centered, family focused, and 

community based when addressing the strengths and needs of 

troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means a sequential, 

structured approach to case management which requires 

working towards a permanency goal (usually reunification) 

while at the same time establishing and working towards an 

alternative permanency plan. 

"Custody investigation" means a method to gather 

information related to the parents and a child whose custody, 

visitation, or support is in controversy or requires 

determination. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 

Services.  

"Denied" as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC40-201-115 means the refusal to provide a claim for 

benefits.  

"Dual approval process" means a process that includes a 

home study, mutual selection, interviews, training, and 

background checks to be completed on all applicants being 

considered for approval as a resource, foster or adoptive 

family home provider.  
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"Family Assessment and Planning Team (FAPT)" means the 

local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths 

and needs of troubled youths and families who are approved 

for referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 

complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 

The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children 

placed away from their parents or guardians and for whom 

the local board has placement and care responsibility. Foster 

care also includes children under the placement and care of 

the local board who have not been removed from their home.  

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover federally allowable expenses made on behalf of a child 

in foster care including the cost of food, clothing, shelter, 

daily supervision, reasonable travel for the child to visit 

relatives and to remain in his previous school placement, and 

other allowable expenses in accordance with guidance 

developed by the department.  

"Foster Care Manual" means Chapter E - Foster Care of the 

Child and Family Services Manual of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services dated July 2011.  

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through 

(i) an agreement between the parents or guardians and the 

local board or the public agency designated by the CPMT 

where legal custody remains with the parents or guardians, or 

(ii) an entrustment or commitment of the child to the local 

board or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

prevention, placement, treatment, and community services, 

including but not limited to independent living services, for a 

planned period of time as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 

assumed placement and care responsibilities through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court 

commitment before 18 years of age.  

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 

household.  

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a 

child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local 

board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed 

by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute 

parental supervision.  

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

Independent living services may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who was in foster care on his 

18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years. 

Such services shall include counseling, education, housing, 

employment, and money management skills development, 

access to essential documents, and other appropriate services 

to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.  

"Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP)" means the plan for 

services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-

5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the 

care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement 

into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 

agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 

placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 

under which it operates.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC)" 

means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, 

the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin 

Islands which establishes orderly procedures for the interstate 

placement of children and sets responsibility for those 

involved in placing those children.  

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 

home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-

placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 

parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 

voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 

any court.  

"Investigation" means the process by which the local 

department obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of 

the Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability 

of the adoption. The findings of the investigation are 

compiled into a written report for the circuit court containing 

a recommendation on the action to be taken by the court. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian.  

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or 

guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the 

parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 

parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special 
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needs including, but not limited to, attorney or other fees 

directly related to the finalization of the adoption; 

transportation; court costs; and reasonable and necessary fees 

of licensed child-placing agencies.  

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 

home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose 

of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary 

foster care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child 

has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Permanency planning indicator (PPI)" means a tool used in 

concurrent permanency planning to assess the likelihood of 

reunification. This tool assists the worker in determining if a 

child should be placed with a resource family and if a 

concurrent goal should be established. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody 

of the child. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants 

to be notified in the event of a proceeding related to 

termination of parental rights or adoption for a child he may 

have fathered.  

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 

family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 

separated from their families. A residential placement 

includes children's residential facilities as defined in § 63.2-

100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Resource parent" means a provider who has completed the 

dual approval process and has been approved as both a foster 

and adoptive family home provider. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home 

after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, 

abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for 

relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any 

other court-ordered removal. 

"Service plan" means a written document that describes the 

programs, care, services, and other support which will be 

offered to the child and his parents and other prior custodians 

pursuant to § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia, 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.  

"State pool fund" means the pooled state and local funds 

administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 

by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse; or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the 

birth or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 

assistance. 

"Visitation and report" means the visitation conducted 

pursuant to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia subsequent to 

the entry of an interlocutory order of adoption and the written 

report compiling the findings of the visitation which is filed 

in the circuit court. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family 

that includes treatment services, personal support services or 

any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. 

Wrap around services are developed through a team 

approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 16 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 

pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

22VAC40-201-115. Foster care appeal process. 

A. Any individual whose claim for benefits available 

pursuant to 42 USC § 670 et seq. or whose claim for benefits 

pursuant to § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia is denied or is 

not acted upon by the local department with reasonable 

promptness shall have a right to appeal to the commissioner. 

B. A hearing need not be granted when either state or federal 

law requires automatic maintenance payment adjustments for 

classes of recipients unless the reason for an individual appeal 

is incorrect maintenance amount computation.  

C. Decisions related to the placement of a child in foster 

care with a specific individual or family may not be appealed. 

Placement decisions of local boards are final when in 

accordance with the relevant provisions of Title 16.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. However, in accordance with 42 USC 

§ 671(a)(23), a hearing shall be granted for the denial or delay 

in placement of a child for adoption when an approved family 

is outside the locality with the legal custody of the child. 

D. The hearing shall be face-to-face or, at the option of the 

commissioner or his designee, a hearing by telephone may be 

held if the individual agrees. The individual shall be afforded 

all rights as specified in this section, whether the hearing is 

face-to-face or by telephone.  
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E. The local department or, in those cases where the local 

department is not involved, the licensed child-placing agency, 

the family assessment and planning team, or other multi-

disciplinary team shall inform an individual in writing of the 

right to appeal the denial of a benefit or the delay of a 

decision regarding a benefit under this section at the time the 

applicable plan is written and at the time of any action 

affecting claim for benefit. This shall include a written notice 

to the birth parents or caretaker at the time a child comes into 

foster care, a written notice to the guardian ad litem, and 

written notice to foster parents at the time the foster care 

agreement is signed. The notice shall include:  

1. The right to a hearing; 

2. The method by which the individual may obtain a 

hearing; and 

3. That the individual may be represented by an authorized 

representative, such as legal counsel, relative, friend, or 

other spokesman, or he may represent himself. 

F. The local department or, in those cases where the local 

department is not involved, the licensed child-placing agency, 

the family assessment and planning team, or other multi-

disciplinary team shall provide timely notice of a decision to 

discontinue, terminate, suspend, or change a benefit for the 

child. Timely notice means the notice is mailed at least 10 

days before the date the action becomes effective. If the 

individual requests a hearing within the timely notice period, 

the benefit shall not be suspended, reduced, discontinued, or 

terminated (but is subject to recovery if the action is 

sustained), until a decision is rendered after a hearing, unless: 

1. A determination is made at the hearing that the sole 

issue is one of state or federal law or policy or a change in 

state or federal law and not one of incorrect benefit 

computation; 

2. A change affecting the individual's benefit occurs while 

the hearing decision is pending and the individual fails to 

request a hearing after notice of the change; or 

3. The individual specifically requests that he not receive 

continued benefits pending a hearing decision. 

G. An individual shall be allowed to request a hearing for up 

to 30 days after the denial of a claim for benefit. Reasonable 

notice of the hearing shall be provided to the individual. 

Within 90 days of the request for a hearing, the hearing shall 

be conducted, a decision reached, and the individual notified 

of the decision.  

H. The commissioner may provide that a hearing request 

made after the date of action, but during a period not in 

excess of 10 days following such date, shall result in 

reinstatement of the benefit to be continued until the hearing 

decision unless (i) the individual specifically requests that 

continued benefit not be paid pending the hearing decision or 

(ii) at the hearing it is determined that the sole issue is one of 

state or federal law or policy. In any case where action was 

taken without timely notice, if the individual requests a 

hearing within 10 days of the mailing of the notice of the 

action and the commissioner determines that the action 

resulted from other than the application of state or federal law 

or policy or a change in state or federal law, the benefit shall 

be reinstated and continued until a decision is rendered after 

the hearing unless the individual specifically requests that he 

not receive continued benefits pending the hearing decision. 

I. Pursuant to § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commissioner may delegate the duty and authority to consider 

and make determinations on any appeal filed in accordance 

with this section to duly qualified officers.  

J. The commissioner or designated hearing officer may deny 

or dismiss a request for a hearing where it has been 

withdrawn by the individual in writing or where it is 

abandoned. Abandonment may be deemed to have occurred if 

the individual without good cause therefor fails to appear by 

himself or by authorized representative at the hearing 

scheduled for such individual. 

K. The hearing shall include consideration of the denial of a 

claim for benefits or the local department's failure to act with 

reasonable promptness on a request for a benefit for the 

individual.  

L. The individual requesting the hearing or his 

representative shall have adequate opportunity to: 

1. Examine information relied upon by the local 

department, licensed child-placing agency, family 

assessment and planning team, or other multi-disciplinary 

team in considering the request for a benefit to the extent 

that the information does not violate confidentiality 

requirements.  

2. Bring witnesses; 

3. Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

4. Advance any arguments without undue interference; 

5. Question or refute testimony or evidence; and  

6. Confront and cross-examine witnesses.  

M. Decisions of the commissioner or designated hearing 

officer shall be based exclusively on evidence and other 

material introduced at the hearing. The transcript or recording 

of testimony and exhibits, or an official report containing the 

substance of what transpired at the hearing, together with all 

the papers and requests filed in the proceeding and the 

decision of the commissioner or hearing officer shall 

constitute the exclusive record and shall be available to the 

individual at a place accessible to him or his representative at 

a reasonable time.  

N. Decisions by the commissioner or hearing officer shall 

consist of a memorandum decision summarizing the facts and 

identifying the regulations and policy supporting the decision.  

O. The individual shall be notified of the decision in writing.  

P. When the hearing decision is favorable to the individual, 

the local department, licensed child-placing agency, family 

assessment and planning team, or other multi-disciplinary 
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team shall promptly begin the process to provide the 

requested service or, in the case of foster care maintenance, 

make corrective payments retroactively to the date the 

incorrect action was taken, unless foster care maintenance 

payments were continued during the pendency of the hearing 

decision.  

Q. The decision of the commissioner shall be binding and 

considered a final agency action for purposes of judicial 

review. The hearing decision shall be a memorandum 

decision summarizing the facts and identifying the statutes 

and regulations supporting the decision. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-3687; Filed June 25, 2014, 4:36 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 1 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes agency orders or regulations fixing 

rates or prices. The State Board of Social Services will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-661. Child Care Program 

(amending 22VAC40-661-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

45 CFR 98.11 and 45 CFR 98.42. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2014.  

Agency Contact: Mary Ward, Child Care Subsidy Program 

Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7638, 

FAX (804) 726-7655, or email mary.ward@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment changes the methodology for determining 

the child care subsidy copayment for participating families 

to a sliding scale based on family size and income and 

clarifies the maximum income eligibility limits for 

assistance. The change to a copayment sliding scale is 

necessary to comply with 45 CFR 98.42. 

22VAC40-661-40. State income eligible scale and 

copayments.  

A. State income eligible scale. The department establishes 

the scale for determining financial eligibility for the income 

eligible child care programs. Income eligibility is determined 

by measuring the family's income and size against the 

percentage of the federal poverty guidelines for their locality, 

not to exceed 85% of the state median income. Income to be 

counted in determining income eligibility includes all earned 

and unearned income received by the family except: 

Supplemental Security Income; TANF benefits; general 

relief; food stamp benefits; child support paid to another 

household; earnings of a child under the age of 18 years; 

garnished wages; earned income tax credit; lump sum child 

support payments; and scholarships, loans, or grants for 

education except any portion specified for child care.  

Unless a local alternate scale is approved, the income 

eligibility scale established by the department must be used 

for the transitional, Head Start, and fee programs. Proposed 

alternate sliding scales must be approved by the department 

prior to submission to the local board of social services.  

B. Copayments. Copayments are established by the 

department. All families receiving child care subsidy have a 

copayment responsibility of 10% of their countable monthly 

income or the copayment established by an approved local 

alternate scale ranging from 5.0% to 10% of the family's 

income, taking family size and income into account, except 

that families whose gross monthly income is at or below the 

federal poverty guidelines who are recipients of TANF, 

participants in the FSET program, or families in the Head 

Start program will have no copayment. The family's 

copayment will be calculated using the following chart: 

 

Monthly Income Levels by Percent of Poverty and Household Size 

  Number of Household Members   

Percent of 

Poverty 
2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

1
 10

1
 11

1
 12

1
 13

1
 14

1
 15

1
 16

1
 17

1
 18

1
 19

1
 20

1
 

Copayment 

Percentage 

0 - 100% 
$0 

$1,293 

$0 

$1,628 

$0 

$1,963 

$0 

$2,298 

$0 

$2,633 

$0 

$2,968 

$0 

$3,303 

$0 

$3,638 

$0 

$3,973 

$0 

$4,308 

$0 

$4,643 

$0 

$4,978 

$0 

$5,313 

$0 

$5,648 

$0 

$5,983 

$0 

$6,318 

$0 

$6,653 

$0 

$6,988 

$0 

$7,323 
5.0% 

>100% - 

<=125% 

$1,294 

$1,616 

$1,629 

$2,035 

$1,964 

$2,454 

$2,299 

$2,872 

$2,634 

$3,291 

$2,969 

$3,710 

$3,304 

$4,129 

$3,639 

$4,547 

$3,974 

$4,966 

$4,309 

$5,385 

$4,644 

$5,804 

$4,979 

$6,222 

$5,314 

$6,641 

$5,649 

$7,060 

$5,984 

$7,479 

$6,319 

$7,897 

$6,654 

$8,316 

$6,989 

$8,735 

$7,324 

$9,154 
6.0% 

>125% - 

<=150% 

$1,617 

$1,939 

$2,036 

$2,442 

$2,455 

$2,944 

$2,873 

$3,447 

$3,292 

$3,949 

$3,711 

$4,452 

$4,130 

$4,954 

$4,548 

$5,457 

$4,967 

$5,959 

$5,386 

$6,462 

$5,805 

$6,964 

$6,223 

$7,467 

$6,642 

$7,969 

$7,061 

$8,472 

$7,480 

$8,974 

$7,898 

$9,477 

$8,317 

$9,979 

$8,736 

$10,482 

$9,155 

$10,984 
7.0% 

>150% - 

<=160% 

$1,940 

$2,068 

$2,443 

$2,604 

$2,945 

$3,140 

$3,448 

$3,676 

$3,950 

$4,212 

$4,453 

$4,748 

$4,955 

$5,284 

$5,458 

$5,820 

$5,960 

$6,356 

$6,463 

$6,892 

$6,965 

$7,428 

$7,468 

$7,964 

$7,970 

$8,500 

$8,473 

$9,036 

$8,975 

$9,572 

$9,478 

$10,108 

$9,980 

$10,644 

$10,483 

$10,914 

$10,985 

$11,106 
8.0% 

>160% - 

<=185% 

$2,069 

$2,392 

$2,605 

$3,011 

$3,141 

$3,631 

$3,677 

$4,251 

$4,213 

$4,871 

$4,749 

$5,490 

$5,285 

$6,110 

$5,821 

$6,730 

$6,357 

$7,350 

$6,893 

$7,969 

$7,429 

$8,589 

$7,965 

$9,209 

$8,501 

$9,829 

$9,037 

$10,149 

$9,573 

$10,340 

$10,109 

$10,531 

$10,645 

$10,723 

$10,914 

$10,914 

$11,106 

$11,106 
9.0% 

>185% - 

<=250% 

$2,393 

$3,232 

$3,012 

$4,069 

$3,632 

$4,907 

$4,252 

$5,744 

$4,872 

$6,582 

$5,491 

$7,419 

$6,111 

$8,257 

$6,731 

$9,000 

$7,351 

$9,191 

$7,970 

$9,383 

$8,590 

$9,574 

$9,210 

$9,766 

$9,830 

$9,957 

$10,149 

$10,149 

$10,340 

$10,340 

$10,531 

$10,531 

$10,723 

$10,723 

$10,914 

$10,914 

$11,106 

$11,106 
10% 
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100% of 
Poverty- 

FFY 2014 

$1,293 $1,628 $1,963 $2,298 $2,633 $2,968 $3,303 $3,638 $3,973 $4,308 $4,643 $4,978 $5,313 $5,648 $5,983 $6,318 $6,653 $6,988 $7,323 

85% of 

SMI 
Published 

on 

05/15/13 

$4,340 $5,361 $6,383 $7,404 $8,425 $8,617 $8,808 $9,000 $9,191 $9,383 $9,574 $9,766 $9,957 $10,149 $10,340 $10,531 $10,723 $10,914 $11,106 

1Income level not to exceed 85% of state median income or 250% of poverty. 

Note: Virginia state median income posted in the Federal Register, Vol. 78, No. 94, Wednesday, May 15, 2013, pages 28597-28599. 

Note: FY 2014 Poverty Guidelines - Federal Register, Vol.78, No. 16, Thursday, January 24, 2013, pages 5182-5183. For a household greater than 8, add $4,020 for 

each additional person. 

  

C. Five-year limit. Localities may limit receipt of fee child 

care program subsidies to a maximum of 60 months (five 

years). Receipt of transitional child care does not count 

toward the five years.  

D. Waiting list. Local departments must have a waiting list 

policy for the fee child care program. Prior receipt of TANF 

must not be a reason for preferential placement on a waiting 

list. Proposed policy for a waiting list must be approved by 

the department prior to submission to the local board of social 

services. A waiting list policy must assure that decisions are 

made uniformly.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R14-4071; Filed June 19, 2014, 11:27 a.m.  
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Notice of Public Meeting and Public Comment for a 
Watershed Plan for Fairview Beach (Potomac River) 

in King George County 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

will host a public meeting on the development of a Watershed 

Plan (WP) for impaired waters at Fairview Beach (Potomac 

River) on Wednesday, July 23, 2014. 

The meeting will start at 6 p.m. at the L. E. Smoot Memorial 

Library (Meeting Room A) located at 9533 Kings Highway, 

King George, VA 22485. The purpose of the meeting is to 

present the final draft Watershed Plan to interested local 

community members and local government staff. 

The use of this beach has been restricted due to excessive 

bacteria levels, resulting in beach closures at various times 

over the last nine years. The Virginia Department of Health 

has issued swimming advisories in order to protect the public 

from possible exposure to bacteria. A draft Watershed Plan 

has been developed by DEQ in order to identify measurable 

goals for restoring water quality. The draft WP also includes 

corrective actions needed and their associated costs, benefits, 

and environmental impacts. The Watershed Plan has been 

under development for the last five months and included a 

series of local meetings and input from local citizens and 

government agencies. A copy of the draft plan can be found 

at the link below the day after the public meeting. 

Please see the link below for information presented during the 

first public meeting and working group meetings: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityIn

formationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImpl

ementationProgress.aspx 

The public comment period on materials presented at this 

meeting will extend from July 23, 2014, to August 25, 2014. 

For additional information or to submit comments, contact 

May Sligh, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, by telephone (804) 450-3802, or by email 

may.sligh@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Loads for Wolf Creek, Laurel 
Creek, and Dry Run in Bland, Giles, and Tazewell 

Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for 

Wolf Creek, Laurel Creek, and Dry Run in Bland, Giles, and 

Tazewell Counties. These streams are listed on the 2012 

§ 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report as impaired due to 

violations of the state's water quality standards for bacteria. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ to develop TMDLs for 

pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) Priority List and Report. 

The impaired segments include: 28.7 miles of Wolf Creek 

from the Little Creek confluence in Tazewell County 

downstream to the confluence with the New River in Giles 

County; 1.60 miles of Laurel Creek in Bland County 

extending from the confluence of Dry Fork downstream to the 

confluence with Wolf Creek; 5.0 miles of Dry Fork in Bland 

County extending from East River Mountain to the West 

Virginia state line downstream to North Gap, excluding the 

headwaters. 

The first public meeting on the development of the TMDL to 

address the bacteria impairments for these segments will be 

held on July 29, 2014, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the Rocky Gap 

United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall located at 12508 

North Scenic Highway, Rocky Gap, Virginia. 

The public comment period will begin July 29, 2014, and end 

August 29, 2014. An advisory committee to assist in 

development of this TMDL will be established. Persons 

interested in assisting should notify the DEQ contact person 

listed below by the end of the comment period and provide 

their name, address, phone number, and email address and the 

organization being represented (if any). Notification of the 

composition of the panel will be sent to all applicants. 

A component of a TMDL is the Waste Load Allocations 

(WLAs); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Administrative Process Act for any future 

adoption of the TMDL's associated WLAs. Information on 

the development of the TMDLs for these impairments is 

available upon request. Please note, all written comments 

should include name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments. Questions, comments, or 

information requests should be addressed to:  

Martha Chapman, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-4800, or email 

martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Mary Dail, Department of Environmental Quality, Blue 

Ridge Regional Office, 3019 Peters Creek Road, Roanoke, 

VA 24019, telephone (540) 562-6715, or email 

mary.dail@deq.virginia.gov.  

 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Water/WaterQualityInformationTMDLs/TMDL/TMDLImplementation/TMDLImplementationProgress.aspx
mailto:may.sligh@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:martha.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.dail@deq.virginia.gov
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DEPARTMENT OF FORENSIC SCIENCE 

Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for Detection of Marijuana Plant Material 

In accordance with the Regulations for the Approval of Marijuana Field Tests for Detection of Marijuana Plant Material 

(6VAC40-50) and under the authority of the Code of Virginia the following marijuana field tests for detection of marijuana 

plant material are approved field tests: 

ARMOR HOLDINGS, INCORPORATED 

13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

NIK 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

ODV INCORPORATED 

13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

ODV NarcoPouch 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

SIRCHIE FINGERPRINT LABORATORIES 

100 HUNTER PLACE 

YOUNGSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA 27596 

NARK II 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

JANT PHARMACAL CORPORATION 

16255 VENTURA BOULEVARD, #505 

ENCINO, CALIFORNIA 91436 

Accutest IDenta 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana ACS3000 Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 

LYNN PEAVEY COMPANY 

10749 WEST 84th TERRACE 

LENEXA, KANSAS 66214-3612 

QuickCheck 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana  Marijuana (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) – 10120 
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Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs 

In accordance with 6VAC40-30, the Regulations for the Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs, and under the 

authority of the Code of Virginia, the following field tests for detection of drugs are approved field tests:  

ODV INCORPORATED  

13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

ODV NarcoPouch  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin 902 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 902 – Marquis Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 

Cocaine Base 904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 

Barbiturates 905 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 907 – Ehrlich's (Modified) Reagent 

Marijuana 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish Oil 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Marijuana 909 – K N Reagent 

Hashish Oil 909 – K N Reagent  

Phencyclidine (PCP) 914 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 

Heroin 922 – Opiates Reagent 

Methamphetamine 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

Heroin 924 – Mecke's (Modified) Reagent 

Diazepam 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ketamine 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ephedrine 927 – Ephedrine Reagent 

gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 928 – GHB Reagent 

ODV NarcoTest  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7602 – Marquis Reagent 

Barbiturates 7605 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7607 – Ehrlich's (Modified) Reagent 

Marijuana 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 

Hashish Oil 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 

Marijuana 7609 – K N Reagent 

Hashish Oil 7609 – K N Reagent  

Cocaine Hydrochloride 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Base 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Phencyclidine (PCP) 7614 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 

Heroin 7622 – Opiates Reagent 

Methamphetamine 7623– Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7623– Methamphetamine/Ecstasy Reagent 

Heroin 7624 – Mecke's Reagent 

Diazepam 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ketamine 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 

Ephedrine 7627 – Chen's Reagent - Ephedrine 
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gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 7628 – GHB Reagent 

SIRCHIE FINGERPRINT LABORATORIES 

100 HUNTER PLACE 

YOUNGSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA 27596 

NARK  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Narcotic Alkaloids 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Heroin 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Morphine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Amphetamine  1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Methamphetamine 1 – Mayer's Reagent 

Opium Alkaloids 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Morphine 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Meperidine (Demerol) (Pethidine) 2 – Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 3 – Nitric Acid 

Morphine 3 – Nitric Acid 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Cocaine Base 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Procaine 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Tetracaine 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 

Barbiturates 5 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Heroin 6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Morphine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Amphetamine  6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Methamphetamine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7 – Ehrlich's Reagent 

Marijuana 8 – Duquenois Reagent 

Hashish 8 – Duquenois Reagent 

Hashish Oil 8 – Duquenois Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 8 – Duquenois Reagent 

Marijuana 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Hashish 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Hashish Oil 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 

Cocaine Base 13 – Cobalt Thiocyanate/Crack Test 

NARK II  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Narcotic Alkaloids 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Morphine 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine  01 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine 01 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 01 – Marquis Reagent 

Morphine 02 – Nitric Acid 

Heroin 02 – Nitric Acid 

Barbiturates 03 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 04 – Ehrlich's Reagent 
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Marijuana 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish Oil 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 07 – Scott's (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Base 07 – Scott's (Modified) Reagent 

Phencyclidine (PCP) 09 – Phencyclidine Reagent  

Opiates 10 – Opiates Reagent 

Heroin 10 – Opiates Reagent 

Morphine 10 – Opiates Reagent 

Buprenorphine 10 – Special Opiates Reagent 

Heroin 11 – Mecke's Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 11 – Mecke's Reagent 

Pentazocine 12 – Talwin/Pentazocine Reagent 

Ephedrine 13 – Ephedrine Reagent 

Diazepam 14 – Valium Reagent 

Methamphetamine 15 – Methamphetamine (Secondary Amines Reagent) 

Narcotic Alkaloids 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Heroin 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Morphine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Amphetamine  19 – Mayer's Reagent 

Methamphetamine 19 – Mayer's Reagent 

3,4-Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) 24 – MDPV (Bath Salts) Reagent 

Beta-keto-N-methyl-3,4-benzodioxyolybutanamine (other 

name: butylone) 

24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

3,4-methylenedioxyethcathinone (other name: ethylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

3,4-methylenedioxymethcathinone (other name: methylone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

Naphthylpyrovalerone (other name: naphyrone) 24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

Beta-keto-methylbenzodioxolylpentanamine (other name: 

pentylone) 

24 – MDPV Synthetic Cathinones Reagent 

4-Methylmethcathinone (Mephedrone) 25 – Mephedrone (Bath Salts) Reagent 

Alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone (other name: alpha-PVP) 26 – A-PVP (Synthetic Stimulant) Reagent 

4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 2C-B) 29 - 2C Reagent 

2-(4-Chloro-2,5-dimethoxyphenyl)ethanamine (other name: 

2C-C) 

29 – 2C Reagent 

4-Ethyl-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 2C-E) 29 – 2C Reagent 

4-Iodo-2,5-dimethoxyphenethylamine (other name: 2C-I) 29 – 2C Reagent 

2-(2,5-Dimethoxy-4-nitro-phenyl)ethanamine (other name: 

2C-N) 

29 – 2C Reagent 

2,5-dimethoxy-4-(n)-propylthiophenethylamine (other name: 

2C-T-7) 

29 – 2C Reagent 

Psilocybin 30 – Psilocybin/Psilocin Reagent  

Methamphetamine 31 – Liebermann Reagent 

Morphine 31 – Liebermann Reagent 

ARMOR HOLDINGS, INCORPORATED 

13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

NIK  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 

Amphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 

Methamphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
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Morphine Test B 6072 – Nitric Acid Reagent 

Barbiturates Test C 6073 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Test D 6074 – LSD Reagent System 

Marijuana Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Hashish Oil Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Tetrahydrocannabinol Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Base Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 

Cocaine Base 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 

Phencyclidine (PCP) Test J 6079 – PCP Reagent System 

Heroin Test K 6080 – Opiates Reagent 

Heroin Test L 6081 – Brown Heroin Reagent System 

gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) Test O 6090 – GHB Reagent 

Ephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 

Pseudoephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 

Diazepam Test R 6085 – Valium Reagent 

Methamphetamine Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 

Methadone Test W 6088 – Mandelin Reagent System 

MISTRAL SECURITY INCORPORATED 

7910 WOODMONT AVENUE SUITE 820 

BETHESDA, MARYLAND 20814 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Amphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Methamphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Marijuana Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Hashish Oil Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 

Methamphetamine Meth 1 and 2 Aerosol 

Heroin Herosol Aerosol 

Marijuana Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 

Hashish Oil Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Coca-Test Aerosol 

Cocaine Base Coca-Test Aerosol 

Marijuana Pen Test – D4D 

Phencyclidine Pen Test – D4D 

Amphetamine Pen Test – D4D 

Ketamine Pen Test – D4D 

Methamphetamine Pen Test – D4D 

Ephedrine Pen Test – D4D 

Heroin Pen Test – D4D 

Methadone Pen Test – D4D 

Buprenorphine Pen Test – D4D 

Opium Pen Test – D4D 

Phenobarbital Pen Test – Barbitusol 

Marijuana Pen Test – Cannabis Test 

Phencyclidine Pen Test – Coca Test 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Pen Test – Coca Test 

Cocaine base Pen Test – Coca Test 

Buprenorphine Pen Test – C&H Test 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Pen Test – C&H Test 

Cocaine base Pen Test – C&H Test 

Ephedrine Pen Test – C&H Test 
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Ketamine Pen Test – C&H Test 

Heroin Pen Test – C&H Test 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Pen Test – C&H Test 

Methadone Pen Test – C&H Test 

Methamphetamine Pen Test – C&H Test 

Heroin Pen Test – Herosol 

Methadone Pen Test – Herosol 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide Pen Test – LSD Test 

Methamphetamine Pen Test – Meth/X Test 

3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Pen Test – Meth/X Test 

Morphine Pen Test – Opiatest 

Opium Pen Test – Opiatest 

Diazepam Pen Test – BZO 

Ephedrine Pen Test – Ephedrine 

Pseudoephedrine Pen Test – Ephedrine 

Amphetamine 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 

Heroin 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 

3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 101 PDT Marquis Reagent 

Phenobarbital 107 PDT Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide 110 PDT Modified Ehrlich Reagent 

Marijuana 119 PDT KN Reagent 

Cocaine Hydrochloride 122 PDT Modified Scott Reagent 

Cocaine base 122 PDT Modified Scott Reagent 

Methaqualone 143 PDT Methaqualone/PCP Reagent 

Phencyclidine 143 PDT Methaqualone/PCP Reagent 

Heroin 140 PDT Modified Mecke's Reagent 

gamma-Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 149 PDT GHB Reagent 

Ephedrine 155 PDT Chen's Reagent 

Diazepam 158 PDT Valium/Rohypnol Reagent 

Flunitrazepam 158 PDT Valium/Rohypnol Reagent 

Ketamine 161 PDT Morris Reagent 

Methamphetamine 164 PDT Methamphetamine (MDMA/Ecstasy) Reagent 

3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 164 PDT Methamphetamine (MDMA/Ecstasy) Reagent 

Psilocybin 167 PDT Psilocybin Reagent 

3,4-Methylenedioxypyrovalerone (MDPV) 170 PDT Bath Salts: MDPV Reagent 

4-methylmethcathinone (Mephedrone) 173 PDT Bath Salts: Mephedrone Reagent 

Morphine 137 PDT Opiates Reagent 

JANT PHARMACAL CORPORATION 

16255 VENTURA BOULEVARD, #505 

ENCINO, CALIFORNIA 91436 

(Formerly available through: 

MILLENNIUM SECURITY GROUP) 

Accutest IDenta  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana ACS3000 Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 

Hashish Oil ACS3000 Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 

Heroin Heroin Step 1 and Step 2 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 

Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 

3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) MDMA Step 1 and Step 2 

Methamphetamine Methamphetamine Step 1 and Step 2  
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COZART PLC 

92 MILTON PARK 

ABINGDON, OXFORDSHIRE ENGLAND OX14 4RY 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Cocaine Cocaine Solid Field Test 

LYNN PEAVEY COMPANY 

10749 WEST 84TH TERRACE 

LEXEXA, KANSAS 66214 

QuickCheck  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Marijuana  Marijuana (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) – 10120 

Marijuana  Marijuana – 10121 

Hashish Oil  Marijuana (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) – 10120 

Hashish Oil Marijuana – 10121 

Heroin  Marquis – 10123 

Heroin Heroin - 10125  

Cocaine Hydrochloride  Cocaine – 10124 

Cocaine Base  Cocaine – 10124 

Methamphetamine  Meth/Ecstasy – 10122 

Methamphetamine  Marquis – 10123 

MDMA  Meth/Ecstasy – 10122 

MDMA Marquis - 10123 

M.M.C. INTERNATIONAL B.V. 

FRANKENTHALERSTRAAT 16-18 

4816 KA BREDA 

THE NETHERLANDS 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test:  

Heroin Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Morphine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Amphetamine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Methamphetamine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Codeine Opiates/Amphetamine Test (Ampoule) 

Marijuana Cannabis Test (Ampoule) 

Hashish Oil Cannabis Test (Ampoule) 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Test (Ampoule) 

Cocaine base Cocaine/Crack Test (Ampoule) 

Heroin Heroin Test (Ampoule) 

Ketamine Ketamine Test (Ampoule) 

Methadone Methadone Test (Ampoule) 

Methamphetamine Crystal Meth/XTC Test (Ampoule) 

3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Crystal Meth/XTC Test (Ampoule) 

Morphine M&H Test (Ampoule) 

Heroin M&H Test (Ampoule) 

Ephedrine Ephedrine HCL Test (Ampoule) 

Pseudoephedrine Ephedrine HCL Test (Ampoule) 

Pentazocine Pentazocine Test (Ampoule) 

Buprenorphine Buprenorphine HCL Test (Ampoule) 

Gamma-Butyrolactone (GBL) GBL Test (Ampoule) 

Gamma-Hydroxybutyric acid (GHB) GHB Test (Ampoule) 

Oxycodone Oxycodone Test (Ampoule) 
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Oxymetholone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 

Testosterone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 

Methandrostenolone Steroids Test B (Ampoule) 

Phenylacetone PMK/BMK(BMK) Test (Ampoule) 

Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) LSD Test (Ampoule) 

Phencyclidine (PCP) PCP Test (Ampoule) 

Methaqualone Methaqualone Test (Ampoule) 

Amobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Pentobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Phenobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Secobarbital Barbiturates Test (Ampoule) 

Propoxyphene Propoxyphene Test (Ampoule) 

Diazepam V&R Test (Ampoule) 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Test (Spray) 

Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack Test (Spray) 

Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine Trace Wipes 

Cocaine Base Cocaine Trace Wipes 

Morphine Opiate Cassette 

Heroin Opiate Cassette 

3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) MDMA/Ecstasy Cassette 

Methamphetamine Methamphetamine Cassette 

Amphetamine Amphetamine Cassette 

REDXDEFENSE 

7642 STANDISH PLACE 

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND 20855 

XCAT  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer's Field Test: 

Cocaine Hydrochloride COC-210 Card 

Cocaine base COC-210 Card 

Phencyclidine COC-210 Card 

Heroin HER-110 Card 

Amphetamine AMP-500 Card 

Methamphetamine AMP-500 Card 

3,4-Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) AMP-500 Card 

Butylone AMP-500 Card 

Methedrone AMP-500 Card 

Methylone AMP-500 Card 

Mephedrone AMP-500 Card 

N-Benzylpiperazine (N-BZP) AMP-500 Card 

Mescaline AMP-500 Card 

2C-I AMP-500 Card 

  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Updated Notice to 2014 Medicaid Provider 
Reimbursement Changes - Notice of Intent to 

Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance (pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13))) 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to  

provide for changes to the Amount, Duration, and Scope of 

Medical and Remedial Care Services (12VAC30-50); 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates - 

Inpatient Hospital Services (12VAC30-70); Methods and 

Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of 

Care (12VAC30-80); and Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (12VAC30-

90). The department published a notice on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall on June 11, 2014, for publication in 

the Virginia Register June 30, 2014, regarding a number of 
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changes in reimbursement methodology effective July 1, 

2014, pursuant to Item 301 of the 2014 Budget Bill. Based on 

the final budget approved on June 21, 2014, the department is 

amending the June 11, 2014, notice to eliminate two of the 

actions described in the published notice. Citations are to 

state regulations that correspond to the State Plan. Estimated 

impact on providers in fiscal year 2015 compared to the 

impact in the earlier notice is included. 

Reimbursement Changes Affecting Other Providers 

(12VAC30-80) Rescinded 

Update No. 1: An effective date change shall not be made in 

the fee schedule corresponding to a change in the billing unit 

for mental health support services from a block of time to 15-

minute increments (12VAC30-50-226). 

- Anticipated Provider Fiscal Impact = $0 

Update No. 2: 12VAC30-80-30 shall not be amended to 

increase supplemental payments for freestanding children's 

hospitals with more than 50% Medicaid inpatient utilization. 

- Anticipated Provider Fiscal Impact = ($2,763,460) 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from William Lessard (contact information 

below) and this notice is available for public review on the 

Regulatory Town Hall (www.townhall.virginia.gov). 

Comments or inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 

30 days of this notice publication to Mr. Lessard and such 

comments are available for review at the same address. 

Contact Information: William Lessard, Provider 

Reimbursement Division, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-4593, or email 

william.lessard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Small Business Impact Review - Report of Findings 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Waste Management Board conducted a small business impact 

review of 9VAC20-120, Regulated Medical Waste 

Management Regulations, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The Virginia 

Waste Management Board is publishing its report of findings 

dated June 11, 2014, to support this decision in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.1 F of the Code of Virginia. 

In order to continue to protect the public from risks associated 

with regulated medical waste the regulation needs to be 

retained. The regulations currently include reduced 

requirements for a "limited small clinic" many of which may 

meet the definition of a small business. This allows limited 

small clinics to have reduced requirements for storage areas 

based on the weekly volume of the waste handled by the 

facility as well as the total volume stored. These provisions 

should reduce the economic impact on some small businesses 

regulated by this regulation. Additionally, these regulations 

allow for a permit-by-rule for onsite treatment, which is a 

more streamlined permitting process for those small 

businesses who treat their own regulated medical waste.  

The comments submitted by the public indicated that there 

are some areas in which the regulation may need to be 

clarified or simplified. One commenter indicated support for 

removing the requirement for operators to complete a state 

licensing program for onsite treatment, stating this 

requirement was unique to Virginia. However, the state 

licensing requirement is a statutory requirement. The 

commenter suggested replacing this requirement with a 

requirement that the treatment system be operated and 

maintained according to manufacturer specifications. A 

commenter also asked that the agency consider expanding the 

number of facilities that can receive treated regulated medical 

waste. 

The regulation can be seen as complex since it does contain 

specific standards that must be met concerning the treatment 

of regulated medical waste. The regulations however need to 

contain specific requirements for the proper treatment of 

regulated medical waste to ensure that the waste is 

appropriately handled and treated to prevent the spread of 

disease. 

The regulations are part of a series of regulations that regulate 

the medical community and those handling regulated medical 

waste. The Virginia Department of Health (VDH), the 

Virginia Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) and 

federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration 

(OSHA) also regulate the activities of the medical 

community. These regulations have been created to avoid 

conflicts with the requirements of VDH, DOLI, and OSHA. 

These regulations contain requirements for the storage, 

treatment, and disposal of regulated medical waste. 

These regulations were revised in 2013 (removal of 

transporter registration requirement), 2011 (update of 

citations needed to be consistent with amendment of 

9VAC20-81), and 2002. Since that time technology has 

advanced, which has changed the breakdown of which 

technologies are being used to treat regulated medical waste. 

The use of incineration to treat regulated medical waste has 

been replaced with other treatment technologies. 

The agency is retaining the regulation. The agency will be 

convening a stakeholder group to discuss potential changes 

regarding these regulations. The stakeholder group will focus 

on increasing clarity within the regulation and on other 

possible changes that should be considered for the onsite 

storage and treatment of regulated medical waste. 

Contact Information: Justin Williams, Office of Waste 

Permitting and Compliance Director, Department of 

www.townhall.virginia.gov
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Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 698-4185, FAX (804) 698-4234, or 

email justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Harbor Station 
Communities, LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Harbor Station 

Communities, LLC, in Prince William County, Virginia. The 

consent order describes a settlement to resolve violations of 

State Water Control Law and the applicable regulations 

associated with the development of the Harbor Station 

Development Project. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Daniel 

Burstein will accept comments by email at 

daniel.burstein@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (703) 583-3821, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from July 15, 2014, through August 14, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for Mr. Robert W. Harris 
dba Whiskey Creek Lawn and Tree Service 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mr. Robert W. 

Harris dba Whiskey Creek Lawn and Tree Service for 

violations in Augusta County, Virginia. A proposed consent 

order describes a settlement to resolve an unpermitted 

discharge violation to Buffalo Branch in Swoope, Virginia. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office named below or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Steven W. Hetrick will 

accept comments by email at 

steven.hetrick@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (540) 574-7878, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, Valley 

Regional Office, P.O. Box 3000, 4411 Early Road, 

Harrisonburg, VA 22801, from July 14, 2014, through August 

13, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for The Kittrell 
Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for The Kittrell 

Company for alleged violations at Mountain Cove 

Subdivision, Henrico County, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent special order to 

The Kittrell Company to address noncompliance with State 

Water Control Law. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Gina Pisoni 

will accept comments by email at 

gina.pisoni@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (804) 527-5106, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, 

VA 23060, from July 14, 2014, through August 15, 2014. 

Proposed Consent Order for Rush Oil Co., Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Rush Oil Co., 

Inc. for violations in Washington County, Virginia. The 

proposed consent order addresses a release of petroleum 

product at Dillow's Shop and Wash, and contains schedules 

for closure of the underground storage tanks at the facility 

and remediation of the release. The proposed order also 

contains a civil charge. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph 

T. Hilt will accept comments by email at 

ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (276) 676-4899, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, from July 15, 2014, through August 

13, 2014. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for SMM Southeast 
LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for SMM 

Southeast LLC, for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Chesapeake, Virginia. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office named below or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. John 

Brandt will accept comments by email at 

john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at (757) 518-2009, or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 Southern Boulevard, 

Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from July 14, 2014, through 

August 13, 2014. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, General Assembly Building, 201 North 9th 

Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: Voice 

(804) 786-3591; FAX (804) 692-0625; Email: 

varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
http://www.virginia.gov/connect/commonwealth-calendar
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-41. Regulation for the 

Certification of Laboratories Analyzing Drinking Water. 

Publication: 30:14 VA.R. 1766-1778 March 10, 2014. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1771, 1VAC30-41-150, subsection I, subdivision 9, 

line 2, change "triannual" to "triennial"  

VA.R. No. R10-2245; Filed June 23, 2014, 2:58 p.m. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code. 

Publication: 30:16 VA.R. 2027-2071 April 7, 2014. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2046, 13VAC5-51-131 M, in 314.5 Smokeless 

powder and small arms primers: 

paragraph 1, line 3, change "5506.5.1.1" to 

"5606.5.1.1" 

paragraph 2, line 3, change "5506.5.2.1" to 

"5606.5.2.1" 

paragraph 4, line 3, change "5506.5.2.3" to 

"5606.5.2.3" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3161; Filed June 26, 2014, 3:47 p.m. 

* * * 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

Publication: 30:16 VA.R. 2071-2232 April 7, 2014. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2093, 13VAC5-63-210 D 3, in 314.5 Smokeless 

powder and small arms primers: 

paragraph 1, line 3, change "5506.5.2.1" to 

"5606.5.2.1" 

paragraph 4, line 3, change "5506.5.2.3" to 

"5606.5.2.3" 

Page 2093, 13VAC5-63-210 D 4, line 2, change "5501.1" 

to "5601.1" 

Page 2094, 13VAC5-63-210 D 5, lines 1 and 3, change 

"5506.4" to "5606.4" 

Page 2094, 13VAC5-63-210 D 6, change "5506.4.1" to 

"5606.4.1" and "5506.4.2" to "5606.4.2" 

Page 2094, 13VAC5-63-210 D 7, lines 1 and 3, change 

"5506.5.1.1" to "5606.5.1.1" 

Page 2094, 13VAC5-63-210 D 8, change "5506.5.1.3" to 

"5606.5.1.3" 

Page 2094, 13VAC5-63-210 D 9, lines 1 and 3, change 

"5506.5.2.1" to "5606.5.2.1" 

Page 2094, 13VAC5-63-210 D 9, column 2, paragraph 4, 

line 3, after "Section" replace "3304" with "[ 3304 5604 ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R12-3159; Filed June 26, 2014, 3:47 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


